VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, I am new with this whole movie thing with xvid codec and other codec....and avi's, mpeg's and the whole nine yards. Can anybody out there tell me what is a good option to do with what I have. Ok, I have no dvd-burner, but i have a cd burner...I have a movie that i downloaded off the net (bloodworks) and it is in .avi format, it is xvid codec compression, and it plays great in windows media player, but the thing is i don't want to sit at a junky wooden chair and watch this on a little monitor.....i have a playstation2 which has a dvd player in it but i know that it isn't that great and it wouldn't prolly work if i burned this onto cd and tried playing it....but i am willing to buy a nice dvd player and in a couple months a dvd burner.....but for now can anyone explain to me like i'm a 4 year old what a VCD really is, and what is the major benefit of converting my bloodworks.avi movie file with xvid codec to another format would be?? what is the major benefit on changing formats?? and also i heard about xvid cannot be played on most dvd players...can anyone help me please?? your help is greatly appreciated.....

-Dave
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    my best advice is to read,read,and read some more. you can start
    <------here:"what is" and then work your way down.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    ok, thanx for the reply, but i have read all these articles and they are great articles but it seems that you have to have a little knowledge on the subject of video.....i have no knowledge of this subject at all.....basically i just want to know what's the benefit of converting from .avi with xvid codec to mpeg-layer1 or mpeg layer2 or whatever.....what's the major benefit of doing that.....this movie is in great format but i heard that movies with xvid codec can not be played on most dvd players??
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM