VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Novice here!

Reading that dvds (pal) are in mpeg2 what other formats can you convert into, and why please?

How do I maximise quality (I am recording in HD)

Thank you

Urgent request as I am trying to free camcorder space up to film child's play tomorrow, and need to get some dvds recorded
    Quote Quote  
  2. Originally Posted by Y Spencer View Post
    Novice here!

Reading that dvds (pal) are in mpeg2 what other formats can you convert into, and why please?

How do I maximise quality (I am recording in HD)

Thank you

Urgent request as I am trying to free camcorder space up to film child's play tomorrow, and need to get some dvds recorded
    You can record HD, DVD as a standard doesn't support HD so your material must be converted to SD (PAL max 720x576, NTSC max 720x480) - after conversion to SD from HD quality will be higher than recording source in SD. DVD support only SD MPEG-2 videos.
    If you are interested in HD then you need to go for BD.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Y Spencer View Post

What you are recording is just DATA. Transfer the camcorder material to your computer hard drive or to an external hard drive (via your computer) and delete the data on the camcorder. Viola.....free space to record more.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you both for your replies, and fast too

I am not going blue ray, but good to hear the dvd quality will be better for recording in HD.

I want to get it onto dvd as my original desktop hard drive has failed, I just bought a replacement and this is giving me an error message too!

So do I just convert to mpeg2? is there another way of writing this / file extension , as I can't see it immediately as an option on my convertor?

Is resolution the same as bitrate? If not how do I maximise bitrate , and what should I aim for?