VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi,

I'd like to transcode a movie on a DVD to an MKV file, and I'm quite confused as to what kind of frame pattern it has and what settings I should use. It's an old movie, "Ikiru" from Akira Kurosawa (1952), and it's a PAL DVD in 4:3 picture format. I ran an encode using QTGMC as deinterlacer, but then realized it was probably wrong for a movie DVD (resulted in 50FPS frame rate). I'm quite new to this (at least to doing this right without a mostly automated software which takes those kinds of decisions for the user) ; from what I read it should be originally 24 or 23.976 FPS footage converted in some way to PAL 25 FPS, but both MeGUI and DGIndex declare it as "interlaced". I found some interesting tips in that thread :
    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=159639
    but I'm not sure how to apply them for that particular movie (the above discussion deals mostly with NTSC, and anime as opposed to film footage). Following an advice in a former discussion on this forum I tried to apply a bob deinterlacer in MeGUI's Avisynth Script Creator module and examine the video frame by frame in the preview, but I'm not sure of what I should look for, what are all the possible patterns in that case, and how I should deal with each of them.
    Besides I'd like to be sure if the other settings I chose are correct :
    - crop(10, 4, -14, -4) resulting in 696x568 resolution (satisfies mod8 condition, not mod16, I let it as is with no resizing or over-cropping),
    - aspect ratio ITU 4:3 PAL (1.367521),
    - x264 at CRF=20, preset=slower, Tune=Film, Profile=High@L3.1