VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. This is my first post on the forum; and yes, I know there's a topic on this already, but I'm still completely new to AviSynth and other video related stuff.
    The thing is, I'd like to upscale an anime I have (probably not the first nor the last to want to do this), because there's only two upscales I've found. One of them has subtitles that have a pretty annoying style of appearing, while the other one is in Spanish.
    The version I have is in DVD quality.The fact's not important, but it's Death Note.
    I've read the newbies guide, and I've got some basics on how to save an .avs script and play it on MPC, even though there was some error when I did wrote the "AviSource("c:\folder\myclip.avi")" styled one.
    Anyways, my questions come with the fact that the files I currently own are in .mkv, and Avisynth script is obviously for AVI files. I've read about DirectShowSource, but I don't know if it can work with .mkv files.
    So, with that said, how do I use the "nnedi3_rpow2" script? Well, a better question would be how do I write it. I don't know if I'll need some way to smooth the video after I upscale it, if I do I'll post another topic.
    That's pretty much it. I'm sorry if I'm coming across as ignorant, but I've never really worked with scripts, or video related stuff.
    Thank you
    Quote Quote  
  2. Avisynth can be used to open many files types, including MKV. You might be better of starting off with a GUI such as MeGUI. Use the File/Open menu and take it from there. MeGUI will let you modify the scripts it creates.

This would double the size of the video, then resize it to 720x404:

nnedi3_rpow2(rfactor=2, cshift="spline36resize", fwidth=720, fheight=404)

If you're using Avisynth 2.6, grab nnedi3.dll via the link in this post (binaries link) and put it in the Avisynth plugins folder.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post