VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello.

After ripping DVD's for a couple of years I've just got a BR Burner, so naturally want to rip Blu-ray's too, which I've been doing okay with BD Rebuilder, TSMuxer etc (backing up to BD25 movie only, English subs). All good so far but just as when I started learning to rip DVD, forced subtitles have tripped me up. In the case of DVD, and after previously learning, PGCEdit is used to turn any streams on/off by default. Naturally I was thinking along the same lines for Blu-ray, the forced stream would be turned on by default when I looked in Arcsoft TMT or PowerDVD - but no.

How can I identify if a Blu-ray stream is forced?

Eg: LOTR - The Fellowship Of The Ring, has two English subtitles streams, neither of which show as on by default (when played in software player) but I've established that the second stream is the forced stream, place names etc. If I delete the second stream in TS Muxer, then play the output there are no place names etc (the forced stream), so although it shows as off by default the second subtitle stream is indeed the forced stream?

Incidentally if I use BD Rebuilder to compress down to BD25 (movie only) and uncheck the second subtitle stream, it is still done correctly, the output still has both subtitle streams, but now the second stream is on by default (shown in software player).

Hope I've explained correctly and I realise I'm probably set in the way of thinking of it working like a DVD but it clearly doesn't. Any guidance on how to identify a forced subtitle stream? Incidentally is there also a guide anywhere to correctly set streams on/off by default? I saw this thread, if doing it manually (not BD Rebuilder) is that the correct way to set a stream on/off by default?

Simplified from Example Above:
    Prior to ripping a disc, how can I tell if the movie uses a forced subtitle, and thereafter identify that stream in whatever software?