VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello All,
    A semi-newbie here (warning, this post will likely be sort of long...I've been at this stuff all day, so my sanity at this point is questionable), trying to get into some more advanced video encoding. I recently discovered the "truth" about MainConcept/Premiere Pro's H.264 encoder, which is just the fact that it's not the best option for exporting H.264, and so began researching the alternatives.
    To make a long story short, I want to get a short (5 min.) sequence exported using x264 (the best alternative, it seems) from Premiere, for Vimeo/YouTube upload and festival submissions.
    So far I've tried quite a few things with no positive results, namely, exporting an uncompressed MOV using the YUV codec (from AME) and then re-encoding through HandBrake with x264, which just crashed. Because of the fact that I'm on a Mac, I haven't found a way to make that intermediate uncompressed file an AVI or any of the other, better (or so it seems), uncompressed formats like Lagarith, HuffYuv or UT. PPro/AME have so many uncompressed QT codecs (Animation, DNxHD (?), Graphics, PNG, TIFF, None...to name a few, I think) that I have no idea which would be best.
    I'd love to use something like FrameServer, but, again, Mac.
    I tried, but using x264 in the command line or in some of its other (stranger) forms, as well as tools like ffmpeg, AviDemux, AviSynth and such are over my head. Of course, I'd love to/am willing to learn anything necessary, but I'm not sure if it's exactly worth it, and I'd need a guide starting from the very basics.
    Any links, tips, ideas, etc. greatly appreciated!