VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hey there,

I was trying to search the web to get some proper info about how could I fix some ac3 movie files with the problem described in the title but couldn't find what I exactly want. I completely lost in results telling about particular hardware receiver units, playback settings of various player tools and huge amount of stuff I'm not interested in at all because I play these movies in whatever environment (various standalone dvd players with television, computer systems, etc) they have all the same problem - so it's about the ac3 audio file and not about the playing environment.

So I have some xvid / mkv movies with the said problem. I already extracted/demuxed the original audio files from them. Some of those are 5.1 some are only 2.0 stereo but the problem is the same. I tried to fix them with eac3to which is my favorite ac3 editing tool but no success (I'm not an expert, though).

I've read about Dialog Normalization people say that one is nothing to do with this issue and also about Dynamic Range Compression but I don't know any tool with the ability to change it.

So, to make it all the way clear could anyone help me please how on Earth can I fix those AC3 files to make dialogs louder while keep action scenes at their original volume?

Thank you much in advance!
    Last edited by Voxx; 19th Jun 2014 at 09:15.
    Quote Quote  
  2. If your willing to spend alot of time separating the parts you want to increase the volume for, selecting the specific parts, and then changing the volume for just the selected parts, I'm betting Goldwave can do this.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thanks for the suggestion!