VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 21 of 21
Thread
  1. Member mdalacu's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: Romania
    Search Comp PM

    dmMediaConverter is a crossplatform FFmpeg frontend (GUI) exposing some of its features. It is intended to be simple and easy to use but also to be able to achieve complex tasks. I have inspired myself from a lot of media converters like Handbrake, WinFF and MkvMergeGui. One feature was lacking from most of them, video stream copy (pass-through), that made me build this.
    Download and more details here: (Win and Linux)
    http://dmsimpleapps.blogspot.ro/2014/04/dmmediaconverter.html
    Please share any thoughts and feedback here.
    Thank you.
    Last edited by mdalacu; 3rd Jul 2014 at 12:06.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Join Date: Nov 2005
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    hate to break it to you but arguably one of the worst gui's i've ever used, right down there with "super". those ridiculous popups are annoying, the options are poorly laid out, it barely exposes any configuration of the encoders, just a mishmash of a design.

    but other than that, great job
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member mdalacu's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: Romania
    Search Comp PM
    I think that the UI is efficient as possible and it follows Gnome Desgin Guidlines. Do to some compiler bugs on windows the trackbar looks a little funny. I don't see how my interface is any uglier the Handbrake or MkvToolnix but my opinion is a little biased.
    Also the popups are shown only at startup and when the first file is added, only once so i don't think that that they are a problem!
    The app features can adapt with constructive feedback not by trashing it.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: India
    Search Comp PM
    Can increase some configuration for encoders both for video as well as audio and remember they all should be somewhat compliant to bluray or dvd or in future uhd so it will be worth wasting time on it.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member racer-x's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2003
    Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
    Search Comp PM
    Haven't tried the Linux version yet, only the win32 version. It was able to join my 1080-60p AVCHD files ok with metadata intact (that's good). It would error out when trying to split them however. On Win7 x64 running the win32 version, It doesn't show the CRF value in the settings. Also even after a successful completion, it shows a memory error on exit.
    Last edited by racer-x; 12th Jun 2014 at 06:49.
    The memories of a man in his old age, are the deeds of the man in his prime.......
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member mdalacu's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: Romania
    Search Comp PM
    Deleted.. sorry...
    Last edited by mdalacu; 12th Jun 2014 at 06:39.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member mdalacu's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: Romania
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by racer-x View Post
    Haven't tried the Linux version yet, only the win32 version. It was able to join my 1080-60p AVCHD files ok with metadata intact (that's good). It would error out when trying to split them however. On Win7 x64 running the win32 version, It doesn't show the CRF value in the settings. Also even after a successful completion, it shows a memory error on exit.
    @racer-x : That's the compiler bug regarding trackbar (CRF missing value) that i was talking in a previous post (i will thing at something ...). On linux there is no such problem, look at the screenshots.
    The last screenshot that you have posted is a harmless Debugging info showing that the app does not have any memory leaks ( 0 unfreed memory blocks). I think i will remove this info in a later version.
    What is the split error that you ware talking about? Can you give more details?
    Thank you very much for your feedback.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member racer-x's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2003
    Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
    Search Comp PM
    I think it has something to do with the metadata from the camera. I can split mp4, ts and mkv files just fine. here is the log:

    ffmpeg version N-63439-g96470ca Copyright (c) 2000-2014 the FFmpeg developers
    built on May 25 2014 22:01:51 with gcc 4.8.2 (GCC)
    configuration: --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --disable-w32threads --enable-avisynth --enable-bzlib --enable-fontconfig --enable-frei0r --enable-gnutls --enable-iconv --enable-libass --enable-libbluray --enable-libcaca --enable-libfreetype --enable-libgme --enable-libgsm --enable-libilbc --enable-libmodplug --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopencore-amrnb --enable-libopencore-amrwb --enable-libopenjpeg --enable-libopus --enable-librtmp --enable-libschroedinger --enable-libsoxr --enable-libspeex --enable-libtheora --enable-libtwolame --enable-libvidstab --enable-libvo-aacenc --enable-libvo-amrwbenc --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libwavpack --enable-libwebp --enable-libx264 --enable-libx265 --enable-libxavs --enable-libxvid --enable-decklink --enable-zlib
    libavutil 52. 86.100 / 52. 86.100
    libavcodec 55. 65.100 / 55. 65.100
    libavformat 55. 41.100 / 55. 41.100
    libavdevice 55. 13.101 / 55. 13.101
    libavfilter 4. 5.100 / 4. 5.100
    libswscale 2. 6.100 / 2. 6.100
    libswresample 0. 19.100 / 0. 19.100
    libpostproc 52. 3.100 / 52. 3.100
    Input #0, mpegts, from 'D:\Capture\Pan_V700\00000.MTS':
    Duration: 00:00:50.05, start: 2.306356, bitrate: 25180 kb/s
    Program 1
    Stream #0:0[0x1011]: Video: h264 (High) (HDPR / 0x52504448), yuv420p, 1920x1080 [SAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], 59.94 fps, 59.94 tbr, 90k tbn, 119.88 tbc
    Stream #0:1[0x1100]: Audio: ac3 (AC-3 / 0x332D4341), 48000 Hz, stereo, fltp, 256 kb/s
    Stream #0:2[0x1200]: Subtitle: hdmv_pgs_subtitle ([144][0][0][0] / 0x0090), 1920x1080
    Output #0, segment, to 'C:\Users\R X\Desktop\Junk\split_%03d.mkv':
    Metadata:
    encoder : Lavf55.41.100
    Stream #0:0: Video: h264 (HDPR / 0x52504448), yuv420p, 1920x1080 [SAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], q=2-31, 59.94 fps, 90k tbn, 59.94 tbc
    Stream #0:1: Audio: ac3 (AC-3 / 0x332D4341), 48000 Hz, stereo, 256 kb/s
    Stream #0:2: Subtitle: hdmv_pgs_subtitle ([144][0][0][0] / 0x0090), 1920x1080
    Stream mapping:
    Stream #0:0 -> #0:0 (copy)
    Stream #0:1 -> #0:1 (copy)
    Stream #0:2 -> #0:2 (copy)
    Press [q] to stop, [?] for help
    [segment @ 04640d40] Application provided invalid, non monotonically increasing dts to muxer in stream 2: -5920 >= -5920
    av_interleaved_write_frame(): Invalid argument
    frame= 0 fps=0.0 q=-1.0 Lsize=N/A time=00:00:00.00 bitrate=N/A

    video:0kB audio:0kB subtitle:0kB other streams:0kB global headers:0kB muxing overhead: 52704984324326293504.000000%
    Conversion failed!
    The memories of a man in his old age, are the deeds of the man in his prime.......
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member mdalacu's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: Romania
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by racer-x View Post
    I think it has something to do with the metadata from the camera. I can split mp4, ts and mkv files just fine. here is the log:

    ffmpeg version N-63439-g96470ca Copyright (c) 2000-2014 the FFmpeg developers
    built on May 25 2014 22:01:51 with gcc 4.8.2 (GCC)
    configuration: --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --disable-w32threads --enable-avisynth --enable-bzlib --enable-fontconfig --enable-frei0r --enable-gnutls --enable-iconv --enable-libass --enable-libbluray --enable-libcaca --enable-libfreetype --enable-libgme --enable-libgsm --enable-libilbc --enable-libmodplug --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopencore-amrnb --enable-libopencore-amrwb --enable-libopenjpeg --enable-libopus --enable-librtmp --enable-libschroedinger --enable-libsoxr --enable-libspeex --enable-libtheora --enable-libtwolame --enable-libvidstab --enable-libvo-aacenc --enable-libvo-amrwbenc --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libwavpack --enable-libwebp --enable-libx264 --enable-libx265 --enable-libxavs --enable-libxvid --enable-decklink --enable-zlib
    libavutil 52. 86.100 / 52. 86.100
    libavcodec 55. 65.100 / 55. 65.100
    libavformat 55. 41.100 / 55. 41.100
    libavdevice 55. 13.101 / 55. 13.101
    libavfilter 4. 5.100 / 4. 5.100
    libswscale 2. 6.100 / 2. 6.100
    libswresample 0. 19.100 / 0. 19.100
    libpostproc 52. 3.100 / 52. 3.100
    Input #0, mpegts, from 'D:\Capture\Pan_V700\00000.MTS':
    Duration: 00:00:50.05, start: 2.306356, bitrate: 25180 kb/s
    Program 1
    Stream #0:0[0x1011]: Video: h264 (High) (HDPR / 0x52504448), yuv420p, 1920x1080 [SAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], 59.94 fps, 59.94 tbr, 90k tbn, 119.88 tbc
    Stream #0:1[0x1100]: Audio: ac3 (AC-3 / 0x332D4341), 48000 Hz, stereo, fltp, 256 kb/s
    Stream #0:2[0x1200]: Subtitle: hdmv_pgs_subtitle ([144][0][0][0] / 0x0090), 1920x1080
    Output #0, segment, to 'C:\Users\R X\Desktop\Junk\split_%03d.mkv':
    Metadata:
    encoder : Lavf55.41.100
    Stream #0:0: Video: h264 (HDPR / 0x52504448), yuv420p, 1920x1080 [SAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], q=2-31, 59.94 fps, 90k tbn, 59.94 tbc
    Stream #0:1: Audio: ac3 (AC-3 / 0x332D4341), 48000 Hz, stereo, 256 kb/s
    Stream #0:2: Subtitle: hdmv_pgs_subtitle ([144][0][0][0] / 0x0090), 1920x1080
    Stream mapping:
    Stream #0:0 -> #0:0 (copy)
    Stream #0:1 -> #0:1 (copy)
    Stream #0:2 -> #0:2 (copy)
    Press [q] to stop, [?] for help
    [segment @ 04640d40] Application provided invalid, non monotonically increasing dts to muxer in stream 2: -5920 >= -5920
    av_interleaved_write_frame(): Invalid argument
    frame= 0 fps=0.0 q=-1.0 Lsize=N/A time=00:00:00.00 bitrate=N/A

    video:0kB audio:0kB subtitle:0kB other streams:0kB global headers:0kB muxing overhead: 52704984324326293504.000000%
    Conversion failed!
    If you disable stream 2 it will work?
    Thanks again.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member racer-x's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2003
    Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
    Search Comp PM
    How can you disable stream 2? There are no options that I can see.
    The memories of a man in his old age, are the deeds of the man in his prime.......
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member racer-x's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2003
    Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
    Search Comp PM
    If I use TsMuxer to mux only Stream0 and Stream1 into a TS, I can then split it using your program. That's why I think it has something to do with the metadata.
    The memories of a man in his old age, are the deeds of the man in his prime.......
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member mdalacu's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: Romania
    Search Comp PM
    [QUOTE=racer-x;2327067]How can you disable stream 2? There are no options that I can see.
    Sorry, you are right. I should implement this.
    Can you do this test in 2 steps. First using "Convert" strip stream 2 (uncheck "Enable" for that stream and leave "copy" for all the others) and then, with the resulting file can you try to do the split again? It is fast, no reencoding.
    Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member mdalacu's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: Romania
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by racer-x View Post
    If I use TsMuxer to mux only Stream0 and Stream1 into a TS, I can then split it using your program. That's why I think it has something to do with the metadata.
    Please can you try again as instructed in my previous post, since i don't have access the the sample and i am tying to determine if it is just an ffmpeg issue (bug) or something else.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member racer-x's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2003
    Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
    Search Comp PM
    [QUOTE=mdalacu;2327072]
    Originally Posted by racer-x View Post
    How can you disable stream 2? There are no options that I can see.
    Sorry, you are right. I should implement this.
    Can you do this test in 2 steps. First using "Convert" strip stream 2 (uncheck "Enable" for that stream and leave "copy" for all the others) and then, with the resulting file can you try to do the split again? It is fast, no reencoding.
    Thanks.
    Just tried that and it does work. It's the same as using the TsMuxer route.
    The memories of a man in his old age, are the deeds of the man in his prime.......
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member racer-x's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2003
    Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
    Search Comp PM
    Here is a short source example if you want to do some tests.

    http://forum.videohelp.com/attachments/22183-1387375850/00003.MTS
    The memories of a man in his old age, are the deeds of the man in his prime.......
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member mdalacu's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: Romania
    Search Comp PM
    [QUOTE=racer-x;2327075]
    Originally Posted by mdalacu View Post
    Originally Posted by racer-x View Post
    How can you disable stream 2? There are no options that I can see.
    Sorry, you are right. I should implement this.
    Can you do this test in 2 steps. First using "Convert" strip stream 2 (uncheck "Enable" for that stream and leave "copy" for all the others) and then, with the resulting file can you try to do the split again? It is fast, no reencoding.
    Thanks.
    Just tried that and it does work. It's the same as using the TsMuxer route.
    Thanks for testing this for me...i don't think that's something that i can do, it must be resolved in segmenter function in ffmepg.
    Do you think this app is useful to someone and to invest a little time to develop it further or, by jugging from the lack of feedback received and from the first reply , to find something else to do?
    Regards.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member racer-x's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2003
    Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
    Search Comp PM
    I just tried it in Linux and it seams a bit smoother. I think this is a good conversion program, better than many I've tried. This is more designed for the novice user, but still has a lot of good functions. You should submit it as a new tool and see what kind response you get.

    Personally I use ffmpeg via commandline bat files for more control over all setting, but most people prefer a GUI.
    The memories of a man in his old age, are the deeds of the man in his prime.......
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member mdalacu's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: Romania
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by racer-x View Post
    I just tried it in Linux and it seams a bit smoother. I think this is a good conversion program, better than many I've tried. This is more designed for the novice user, but still has a lot of good functions. You should submit it as a new tool and see what kind response you get.

    Personally I use ffmpeg via commandline bat files for more control over all setting, but most people prefer a GUI.
    Thank you for your answer, this gives me hope. I have submitted the app 2 weeks ago but i never got any replay.
    I have tried your video sampled and i didn't find any solution to keep the hdmv_pgs_subtitle (stream 2) and split it. An workaround is to do it in 2 steps, as previously stated but instead of disable the subtitle , try to convert it to dvdsub and then the split works. I hope it will get corrected in ffmpeg soon.
    Have a nice day.
    Quote Quote  
  19. First, Great program program.Thank you for developing this nice and handy ffmpeg gui.
    I have some feature requests.Can you add function that program automatically detect external subtitles (ass,ssa,srt) with the same name as video and auto add them to streams, it is easier when hardcode subtitles to video.It would be nice if you add something like profiles or at least use last settings that have been selected.
    Sorry for my bad English
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member mdalacu's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: Romania
    Search Comp PM
    @mycek: Fist, thank you for your feedback and kind words.
    Regarding your requests : In version 0.9.9 (coming within days) you will be able to drag and drop multiple files at once is source file area, so, i think it will be much easier for you to add subtitles. I will not auto-detect subtitle presence since will add an unnecessary complexity and could create confusion.
    For your second request - it is a little tougher to implement since , for now, i have no idea how to do it and not lose some features. I will think at something for a feature version.
    Version 0.9.9 is dragging a bit since i can not correct the track-bar appearance in windowze ....
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member mdalacu's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: Romania
    Search Comp PM
    Version 0.9.9 is up!
    Quote Quote