VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: USA
    Search PM
    I just bought a sony DH740 7.2.

    I'm not sure how to match the ohms so that I wont damage either speakers or my receiver. I've read online but it gets really confusing.

    Will this work?

    http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-NS-SP1800BL-5-1-Channel-Theater-Speaker/dp/B001AVRD62/ref...S6F1EGP9RP9ZY9

    also on the back of the sub for this model, I noticed that it has only 1 RCA jack and my receiver has 2 for left and right, so do I just need a Y splitter?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date: May 2003
    Location: usa
    Search Comp PM
    i noticed on the picture of the back of the receiver that you can use a speaker impedance of 6 to 16 ohms. so if your current speakers fall within this range they should work, the other issue is the wattage, not sure if the 145 watt spec is divided among the the speakers, 145 watts divided into the five speakers would be 29 watts per speaker. the sub is in most cases has an amplifier built into the speaker enclosure. just a thought.
    If it's an ambulance...you got a chance. If it's a hearse...it's even worse!!!--Judge Alvin "JP" Valkenheiser

    Want to extract audio from .vob files? Read my guide at http://www.dvdrhelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=187078
    Quote Quote  
  3. Mentally Deficient Mr.Delusional's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2012
    Location: The ghetto of Emerald City
    Search Comp PM
    On the back of your receiver it says 6-16 ohms. So your speakers will be perfectly fine. And you don't need a y-splitter to hook up your sub. Your receiver has two LFE sub outputs. Hence the .2 in 7.2


    Edit:

    Wingnut2003 beat me to it.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: USA
    Search PM
    Thanks you guys are really fast. MY current speakers say "impedance: 4 ohms" so guess I need new ones.


    Yes the receiver has 2 outs puts but the sub looks like it only has 1 input for the sub. That's why I thought I needed the Y splitter.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Mentally Deficient Mr.Delusional's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2012
    Location: The ghetto of Emerald City
    Search Comp PM
    If you haven't bought the speakers yet, you might shop around for a 7.1 speaker setup. That Yahama package is a 5.1 system. (or you could possibly add two more speakers to the 5.1 setup & see if you can find two matching satellite speakers)

    I'm actually kinda jealous, because I only have a 5.1 Pioneer receiver
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2001
    Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    @wingnut2003, the ad clearly said at the bottom
    "1015 Watts Total System power (145W x 7 @ 6 ohms 1kHz 0.9% THD)"
    , so the amp in that receiver is much more powerful than you said.
    29Watts/speaker would have been too weak, but 147Watts/speaker is fine for most home usage.

    Receiver expects 6 ohms and those speakers ARE 6 ohms, so that's a match.

    The speakers may be less capable that what the receiver's amp could put out, but as long as you don't drive the amp too close to its limit, they should be able to handle it. Have done that successfully with my own speakers in the past.

    Will have to review the ad, re: the RCA thing, later...

    Scott
    "When will the rhetorical questions end?!" - George Carlin
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date: May 2003
    Location: usa
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Leon101 View Post
    Thanks you guys are really fast. MY current speakers say "impedance: 4 ohms" so guess I need new ones.


    Yes the receiver has 2 outs puts but the sub looks like it only has 1 input for the sub. That's why I thought I needed the Y splitter.
    you could add a 4 ohm resistor in series to the positive side of the speaker to give you at lest an 8 ohm impedance. have done this many times and has worked fine.
    If it's an ambulance...you got a chance. If it's a hearse...it's even worse!!!--Judge Alvin "JP" Valkenheiser

    Want to extract audio from .vob files? Read my guide at http://www.dvdrhelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=187078
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: USA
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by wingnut2003 View Post
    Originally Posted by Leon101 View Post
    Thanks you guys are really fast. MY current speakers say "impedance: 4 ohms" so guess I need new ones.


    Yes the receiver has 2 outs puts but the sub looks like it only has 1 input for the sub. That's why I thought I needed the Y splitter.
    you could add a 4 ohm resistor in series to the positive side of the speaker to give you at lest an 8 ohm impedance. have done this many times and has worked fine.
    How would one do that?

    I'm anxious to hear my new receiver since it just came in the mail. I was hoping to be able to use my old RCA speakers from my old RCA receiver until I read they were 4 ohms. That's why I'm shopping around for a match quickly.

    I chose the Yamaha because I didn't want to spend a lot of money again when I just paid around $250 for the receiver. All 7.1 systems I've seen are in the $300 mark.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date: May 2003
    Location: usa
    Search Comp PM
    Click image for larger version

Name:	diagram.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	31.8 KB
ID:	25359


    quick diagram, you would do this for all speakers except the subwoofer.
    If it's an ambulance...you got a chance. If it's a hearse...it's even worse!!!--Judge Alvin "JP" Valkenheiser

    Want to extract audio from .vob files? Read my guide at http://www.dvdrhelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=187078
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: USA
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by wingnut2003 View Post
    Attachment 25359


    quick diagram, you would do this for all speakers except the subwoofer.
    Thank you, I might run to radioshack and see if I can get some of these resistors and try this today hopefully
    Quote Quote  
  11. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date: Sep 2002
    Location: AZ, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: USA
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by redwudz View Post
    So after unhooking my old speakers from my old receiver, I noticed that the sub has it's own wires attached to it that plug in it's own red and black places on the receiver. Do I need some sort of converter adapter to make it plug into my RCA inputs on the new receiver?

    just want to make sure before I throw away my money on something that won't work, I'd like to be certain that this Yamaha sub will work on my new receiver and how.

    the link below shows the back of the sub and it only has the 1 input.

    http://www.hometheatermack.com/2011/07/cheap-solutions-htib-yamaha-yht-495.html
    Quote Quote  
  13. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2002
    Location: canada
    Search Comp PM
    It has an rca connector which go the the receivers sub rca input via a good quality rca cable.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date: May 2003
    Location: usa
    Search Comp PM
    you can put a rca plug ong the end of the wire. this is what you can use http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2103789

    outer ring is negative and center pin is positive.
    If it's an ambulance...you got a chance. If it's a hearse...it's even worse!!!--Judge Alvin "JP" Valkenheiser

    Want to extract audio from .vob files? Read my guide at http://www.dvdrhelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=187078
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: USA
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by wingnut2003 View Post
    you can put a rca plug ong the end of the wire. this is what you can use http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2103789

    outer ring is negative and center pin is positive.
    Nvm, the sub that I currently have cannot be powered this way because it has a connecter that connects to the receiver and not an external source
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2001
    Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    But if you get a new set of speakers, likely your new sub will be powered and will use RCA already (just like the receiver). You could then either go with a Y cable (to combine the 2 sub outputs both into the sub speaker's single input), or you could just plug 1 of the 2 channels directly (you probably won't notice the difference because people lose directionality with very low frequencies), or you could get a "stereo" subwoofer, or you could get 2 subwoofers, or you could get a little powered converter/mixer box (but that's a little overkill).

    Scott
    "When will the rhetorical questions end?!" - George Carlin
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: USA
    Search PM
    Thanks everyone. I just found a set of speakers that I liked much better and purchased them last night so they should arrive in a few days and I will post back any difficulties I may find.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Mentally Deficient Mr.Delusional's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2012
    Location: The ghetto of Emerald City
    Search Comp PM
    @Leon101

    Please do let us know what you did end up buying & how it is working out for you. This is what I was going to suggest.
    https://www.parts-express.com/51-home-theater-package-12-powered-subwoofer--300-696

    That's a 5.1 system, and you could just add two more satellites from the same company at a later date. Here are the satellites.
    https://www.parts-express.com/dayton-audio-sat-bk-satellite-speaker-pair-black--300-670
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: USA
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Mr.Delusional View Post
    @Leon101

    Please do let us know what you did end up buying & how it is working out for you. This is what I was going to suggest.
    https://www.parts-express.com/51-home-theater-package-12-powered-subwoofer--300-696

    That's a 5.1 system, and you could just add two more satellites from the same company at a later date. Here are the satellites.
    https://www.parts-express.com/dayton-audio-sat-bk-satellite-speaker-pair-black--300-670
    Hey guys sorry for the late reply. Been working a ton of hours.

    So here's what I ended up buying.

    Energy 5.1 Take classic. I can add two speakers from them later as well. I bought it on Amazon for $300. I didn't want to fork over the extra money but after working so much, decided to treat myself and go ahead and spend the extra cheese on a decent setup.

    So far I am loving it, the speakers paired with my SONY STR-DH740 sound amazing. only problem I have found and I hope you guys can help me find a solution is that on my old receiver I used some bluetooth/aux adapter to connect my smart phone via bluetooth and play through the surround but this receiver does not have a aux line in like my old one.

    I don't want to waste the money on a bluetooth dongle just to "try" and see if it will work on the usb place on the receiver, so I am stumped right now reading online for solutions. Thanks everyone
    Quote Quote