VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I hope the title is right and I hope I've done everything else right - I am a bit of a noob!

I have a VHS tape which has on it some 20 year old material from a consumer camcorder.

I am capturing the material digitally via:

JVC HR-S9500 VCR
    SVHS Cable
    TBC-1000 time base corrector
    ATI AIW 9800 PRO
    ATI MMC
    PC fast enough to keep up

The effect I am going to describe is independent of all this kit - I still see it with a different VCR, no TBC, DV capture via a DAC-2 on a different PC using WinDV.

I see horizontal lines. I know this is to do with how the picture is made. I don't FULLY understand how lines in the analog PAL VHS signal are translated into lines of pixels in a digital frame. But I know they are there. I have read up about inter-lacing; I understand that it is probably better not to de-interlace and rely on authoring/viewing software to deal with translating the interlaced source into the best picture to view.

But it's not that the lines are THERE, it is that my picture is kind of fuzzy, and one of the things that seems to be making it fuzzy is that the lines are moving slightly out of sync which each other, ie shifting from left to right, as I go from frame to frame. If I DO look at it through a deinterlace filter (Virtualdub), the lines disappear but there is an obvious left to right blurriness of vertical borders - so the defect is there, it's just not so clear what makes it up.

I get the same effect from a consumer pre-recorded VHS video, though less pronounced.

I have put a 10 frame sample in "My Files": http://files.videohelp.com/u/161331/ShedTest.avi
    (hope I've done that right). You can see the effect in the top left quadrant, particularly zooming in and looking at the red window and the left-hand vertical edge of the shed.

So my questions, humbly, are:

(i) What is the left to right shifting of the lines?