VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello!

I'm a newbie here trying to learn all this stuff and I have a question about video sources that come from an NTSC DVD that are interlaced. What is the best way to make these play as progressive video?

Does running it through Handbrake and turning the deinterlaced option on make that video progressive? Does the same go from the decombing option in Handbrake as well?

Also, does NTSC DVDs play two kinds of FPS, correct? 23.976 FPS and 29.97? If so, which is the preferred FPS for progressive video?

Thanks in advance!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Originally Posted by runlouierun View Post
    Also, does NTSC DVDs play two kinds of FPS, correct? 23.976 FPS and 29.97?
    No, all NTSC DVDs output interlaced 29.97fps (really 59.94 fields per second). That makes your main question unanswerable except to say, "It depends." Can you provide a short sample from the source?

I don't use Handbrake so someone else may be able to answer the question about its use. Of course, using a deinterlacer will make a video progressive but that's often the wrong thing to do.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    What is this obsession with something as confusing and unimportant as interlaced/progressive.....especially with newbies? Who keeps putting this crap into their heads?
    Quote Quote  
  4. I would have thought knowing whether to deinterlace or to remove pulldown, and how to do it properly, would be fairly important when re-encoding.

https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/DeinterlacingGuide

https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/Telecine

If the video is purely interlaced, I'd set the output frame rate to 29.970 (constant) and enable either the de-interlace filter (slower) or decomb filter (default). Or, for smoother motion, I'd set the output to 59.940 (constant) and choose "bob" as either the de-interlacing or decomb method. The former should give you 29.970fps progressive, and the latter 59.940fps progressive.