VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    could some one please guide me through on how to convert my avi movies to get 5.1 sound, i'm not a pro so would appreciate your help
    thank you kindly
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    If your "avi's" only have 2.0 or stereo audio you will never convert to a true 5.1 audio.
    Quote Quote  
  3. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Load the avi into audacity and export as ac3,make sure you have Ffmpeg For Audacity installed and in the edit/preferences/import/export have custom mix checked and when you click on export there'a an option box where you can set the bitrate,after you do that in the next setup use the slider to 6 channels and click the channel boxes you want to map to the extra channels.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah but that's not going to make true 5.1 audio, that will just be the same audio in all channels, there will be no true separation as in true 5.1.
    Or at best a "sudo" or fake 5.1 and I have never heard a truely good 5.1 audio made from a 2.0 source.

I remember that audio filter or plugin, can't recall the name right now, even though it made a good sudo 5.1 it was not that great.
    Have tried this 1000 times if once with every filter and software out there, nothing is going to give you a true 5.1 audio track like an original 5.1 audio track
    that is mixed from the original multiple audio recordings like an official or "real" 5.1 audio track on a store bought dvd/bluray, PERIOD!!
    Last edited by Noahtuck; 7th Apr 2014 at 22:00.
    Quote Quote  
  5. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Search Comp PM