VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2013
    Location: England
    Search Comp PM
    I'm converting Game of Thrones from blu-ray.
    I've already used MakeMKV to rip the 10 episodes to MKVs, and Handbrake's loading the 10 files from there.

    I started with the High Profile preset. Changed x264 Preset to Very Slow*. Changed x264 Tune to Film. Kept Constant Quality at 20. Removed the Pass-Thru. Just one audio track, from DTS-HD MA to AAC, Dolby PLII.

    And I get between 5 to 10 FPS. I'm surprised that it's going to take longer to convert the episode than it would do to play it back.
    My PCs an i7-3770k, and it's loading the files off a SATA3-6GBPS HDD, and saving to another SATA3-GBPS HDD. Neither have faults.

    *Obviously the clue may be in "Very Slow", but in the past with many other films I've tried it's never been nearly this slow, and changing to the "Slow" or "Medium" presets barely speeds it up.

    Is it just something special about the Game of Thrones video content, or is my PC playing up?
    Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date: Sep 2002
    Location: USA
    Search Comp PM
    Some videos are slower to encode. Depends on their content. I use RipBot for BD>MKV conversions. It takes about 2 - 3 hours for most BDs with my system. I use VidCoder (Handbrake GUI) only for DVD>MKV conversions. It takes about 25 - 30 minutes for DVD>MKV conversion. The content encoded makes a huge difference, along with your encoding settings and what output quality you want.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Check your CPU usage. If it's sitting on 100%, you're encoding as fast as you can.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2013
    Location: England
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah, CPU's on 100%.

    It's been running for roughly 8 hours, and it's just about converted 3 hours of video. (AVG FPS: 007.8).

    On the plus side, when I converted one episode yesterday (as a test), I had a CRF value of 20, and the x264 preset was "Slow", and the output was 3.85GB.
    The same episode that's come out today, was CRF 18 with x264 preset "Very Slow", has come out at 3.16GB.

    So I guess all this time is worth it, if I'm getting more quality for a lower size.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2011
    Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
    Search Comp PM
    The real meat in h264 encoding is all those nice video parameters. But they greatly increase encoding time. I think it's worth it for the quality.
    Quote Quote  
  6. In my experience, using presets slower than "slow" rarely reduces file size by more than 1 or 2 percent. And visual quality isn't significantly improved.

    I seem to recall that Handbrake can be rather slow at decoding the source video. Even if you switched to Ultrafast you wouldn't encode much faster because you'd be bottlenecked by the decoding.
    Last edited by jagabo; 23rd Mar 2014 at 09:04.
    Quote Quote  
  7. I'd agree. The slower presets don't tend to change the file size all that much. Sometimes a slower preset can even increase it a little. Are you sure everything else was the same? Tune "film" will generally increase the file size compared to tuning "none". As will tuning "grain".
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    I would install a large HSF and overclock that i7 processor, I have a 2700K that passes benchmarks @4.8Ghz on air and have it set @ 4.4Ghz with minimal cpuv and it does not get too hot when encoding, it would noticeably speed up your encode times
    Last edited by ocgw; 4th May 2014 at 10:00.
    i7 2700K @ 4.4Ghz 16GB DDR3 1600 Samsung Pro 840 128GB Seagate 2TB HDD EVGA GTX 650
    http://forum.videohelp.com/topic368691.html
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads