VideoHelp Forum

Try StreamFab Downloader and download from Netflix, Amazon, Youtube! Or Try DVDFab and copy Blu-rays! or rip iTunes movies!

Try StreamFab Downloader and download streaming video from Youtube, Netflix, Amazon! Download free trial.

+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. My first post! Hello! Word of warning, I'm a huge newb.

I come to you in search of help of course.

I'm having trouble editing my videos without losing a huge amount of quality.

I have been using Windows Movie Maker for the most part but only because I cant get premiere or vegas to recognize my video files and the only conversions programs I've used to convert it - WMM and AVC - reduce the quality so much it defeats the purpose for the most part since I do very little actual editing.

No matter what I seem to do I always end up with blotchy low quality video after converting to a format that anything else accepts. Even when using WMM's highest settings the video comes out looking much worse. I dont understand!

My question is basically - How can I convert my videos to a file type I can use with better editors than WMM without losing lots of quality?
    Information that might be relevant is below.

Camcorder - Ordro HDV-V88 (its for nightvision) Could the problem be my camcorder?

OS - Windows 7 Home Premium

Video files come off the camera as .avi

I'm a huge newb, sorry. If I didnt post all the necessary info please let me know!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Your avi might be possible to load into Vegas with ffdshow installed, .... some 5s video sample would be handy to try it ... , you can upload it here using videohelp
    Quote Quote  
  3. http://www.datafilehost.com/d/9906e24a

Here is a 10 second clip I have hosted. I tried install ffdshow but my vegas is still not having it.

I'm on the 12.0 trial of Vegas, the latest trial as far as I know. Hope that helps.

Thank you for taking your time to help me!
    Quote Quote