VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 36
Thread
  1. Hello i was wondering if you guys could help me out.

    Below are two links to videos that i took with my nikon cool pix p7100 camera

    Please see the original video:

    http://s284.photobucket.com/user/caratsdirect2u/media/Test%20Videos/OvalKI1.mp4.html

    and the video after only the sound was removed (using VSDC video editor):

    http://s284.photobucket.com/user/caratsdirect2u/media/Test%20Videos/ovalkI1nosound.mp4.html

    I understand that you will loose quality when you edit a video however is it logical that the original video was around 15mb and the video after cropping is 1.5mb ?

    one more thing.
    Here is a link to another video that i took, i was wondering if anyone has any tips on what i can do to improve the video:
    http://s284.photobucket.com/user/caratsdirect2u/media/video/DSCN1551.mp4.html
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Increase the bitrate for bigger output file size and usually better quality. And be sure to use h264 video. If it's possible in vsdc. If not then find another basic editor like avidemux.
    Quote Quote  
  3. What should the bit rate be ?
    Quote Quote  
  4. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Try use same as your source. You can check the source bitrate with for example mediainfo.

    Or calculate it yourself, video+audio bitrate * running time = file size or with a bitrate calculator.

    Or use constant quality encoding mode and just adjust the quality parameter. If it's possible.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Why reencode at all?
    I mean if the goal is to simply remove the audio, why not keep the video stream untouched and simply remux?
    (btw. cropping = removing parts of the image, for example black borders)
    Quote Quote  
  6. I am not such a huge photo buff and dont really understand what all that means... any way you can "dumb it down for me"?
    Quote Quote  
  7. Originally Posted by Selur View Post
    Why reencode at all?
    I mean if the goal is to simply remove the audio, why not keep the video stream untouched and simply remux?
    (btw. cropping = removing parts of the image, for example black borders)

    I need to crop the video a bit, and the VSDC re-encodes the video after it edits it...
    Quote Quote  
  8. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Yep, I assume you are cropping it. Removing a part of the image like top and bottom.

    Or are you just editing/cutting it?
    Quote Quote  
  9. I am just cropping away some of the sides.
    Quote Quote  
  10. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Yep, you must reencode/reconvert/convert then.

    Did you try increase the bitrate?
    Quote Quote  
  11. How do i re-encode/reconvert/convert ?

    And i am still not sure how to or where to increase the bitrate.
    Quote Quote  
  12. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    I can't help with that. I refuse to install VSDC. .

    But doesn't it come with some help???? Or else it's usually in the export/save settings.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Yeah there about 200 different save settings... it would take me hours to compile a video in each format and compare them....

    Why dont you want to install it ?
    Quote Quote  
  14. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    But some setting must say Bitrate/ bit rate or quality?
    Quote Quote  
  15. I have not found anything that talks about bitrate....
    Quote Quote  
  16. Originally Posted by JoeSinger View Post
    I have not found anything that talks about bitrate....
    If it doesn't have bitrate settings, then how about size? Are there any settings that allow you to choose the size? If so, try and make it roughly the size of the original, maybe a bit smaller. There has to be something.

    Maybe someone will show up that actually uses the program.
    Quote Quote  
  17. here are the menu options

    Click image for larger version

Name:	vsdc menu.JPG
Views:	16
Size:	158.8 KB
ID:	23769
    Quote Quote  
  18. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Have you tried high quality video h.264 1400kbps? But it might still be too low. The 1400 kbps is the bitrate part.

    Have you tried click on edit profile? You maybe can adjust all settings there.
    Quote Quote  
  19. What should i make the Bitrate?
    Quote Quote  
  20. I have made the bitrate 10,000 and the video is still "blurry".... any other ideas ?
    Quote Quote  
  21. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    What does it say under resolution? Original?

    Maybe does the cropping mess up the video.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Resolution is HD 1920X108 pixels (16:9)
    Quote Quote  
  23. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Try set the resolution to 1920x1080 manually in the profile editor.


    But I would consider finding another editor...
    Quote Quote  
  24. Banned
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    -30-
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 03:32.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date: Jun 2012
    Location: USA
    Search Comp PM
    The image looks blurry because the image is blurry. It was shot out of focus. When you digitally zoom in on an already blurry image -- which is what you are effectively doing by cropping off the sides -- the blur becomes more obvious.

    Probably you are shooting too close for the camera to focus properly. Also, because of the nature of the gems, the camera's autofocus and autoexposure are continuously responding to light refraction which doesn't help you at all. You need manual control of your camera and a longer lens.
    Last edited by smrpix; 27th Feb 2014 at 07:38.
    Quote Quote  
  26. Banned
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    -30-
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 03:32.
    Quote Quote  
  27. Member
    Join Date: Jun 2012
    Location: USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
    For closeup of very small objects one usually uses shorter focal length lenses with macro focusing capability. Longer lenses don't usually focus as close. The camera's focusing system also has a lot to do with this kind of shooting.
    Whether you use a macro lens and move in closer or a longer lens and move back further, there are multiple ways to skin this cat. (I would take issue with the word "usually.") The camera's focusing system type is secondary to the operator knowing how to use it.

    The major issue here occurs before the mediocre editing software, and all the bitrate in the world won't fix it. It would still be blurry uncompressed.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads