VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 23 of 23
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2014
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search PM
    Theres about 20 wmv files that I need to merge. I have tried MediaJoin but it seems to only do 3 files wth? I did a test version and whenever I do any more, it just does exactly what I did for my test version. Strange. I dont want the quality to go or anything, I just want to merge all of the wmv files together. What can I use?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2014
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search PM
    Ok and I need a feature to set an order to how it will play each file. Because I have an order it needs to play in.
    Quote Quote  
  3. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Tried asfbin?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2014
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search PM
    It's so complicated. Missing header here, this there and its stupid. That also just does the same as my test. Maybe I can ZIP you all the files and maybe you can do it for me? Unless you can specify any other software?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date: Jun 2012
    Location: USA
    Search Comp PM
    Did you try Windows Movie Maker?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2014
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by smrpix View Post
    Did you try Windows Movie Maker?
    Do you have a guide on how I can merge them in this?
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date: Jun 2012
    Location: USA
    Search Comp PM
    You almost certainly have a variety of wmv files with differing raster sizes bitrates and framerates. Missing or damaged headers, etc. implies they have been downloaded somewhat randomly. It IS complicated.

    https://www.google.com/#q=windows+movie+maker+guide&safe=off
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2014
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search PM
    How does that guide help? :/
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date: Jun 2012
    Location: USA
    Search Comp PM
    You click on the links and read. Works every time.

    So far you haven't told us anything about your wmv files except that some of them are damaged. There is no one button solution for what you want to do. WMM will at least conform them to a common size and framerate.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2014
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search PM
    They were all taken from my iphone 5 and ipad..and I just changed the .mov to .wav

    Why does mediajoin work for 3 vids when I input all of them?
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date: Jul 2001
    Location: Yank in Europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Video11 View Post
    and I just changed the .mov to .wav
    Why would you do something silly like that?

    Originally Posted by Video11 View Post
    Why does mediajoin work for 3 vids when I input all of them?
    I'm trying to figure out how you got WINDOWS files from an Apple product?
    Originally Posted by Video11
    They were all taken from my iphone 5 and ipad
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2014
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search PM
    MediaJoin wouldnt find my .mov files in the directory. It only finds .wmv files so I just changed them all to .wmv
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date: Jun 2012
    Location: USA
    Search Comp PM
    QuickTime files and Windows Media files and Audio files are completely different beasts. You can't magically pretend one us the other and hope any program will recognize them. May as well break open your iPod and cram a CD in it.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2001
    Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    Bottom line: unless ALL your files in the list have same specs (w/ exception of bitrate), you cannot just join, but must instead use an NLE and convert (recompressing) to new file, with accompanying loss of quality.

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2014
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search PM
    Guys if I send you the clips can you do it for me please? I will zip them all.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date: Jun 2012
    Location: USA
    Search Comp PM
    ..
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2014
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by smrpix View Post
    Originally Posted by Video11 View Post
    Guys if I send you the clips can you do it for me please? I will zip them all.
    How do we know you haven't renamed a virus "something.zip?"

    https://www.virustotal.com/uk/
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2014
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search PM
    By URL
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2014
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search PM
    Can you please? Also I have put all the files back to .MOV files which they originally were from my iPhone.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2014
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search PM
    I have tried using windows live movie maker and I added all of the clips fine, but unfortunately it doesnt allow you to change the order of the clips. or am I missing something?
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2001
    Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    You most likely may be missing something, but we don't know - you aren't giving us much info.

    Go back to your originals, not copies of your originals, but the original originals.
    Give us a detailed text readout from mediainfo what it says about one of those files.
    Then, use it to make sure the remainder of the clips are the same (excepting filename, bitrate, length and date, of course).

    If they are, you can join (with a tool that depends on the filetype).
    If not, use an NLE that supports these source format(s), and supports a high quality way to deliver your combined, final, target format (whatever you need that to be, which you also haven't told us).

    All the nle apps that I work with have no trouble allowing you to order clips on the editing timeline as you desire, regardless of the filename, original order, added order,, or whatever. This includes WMM. Timeline, not asset bin.

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2014
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search PM
    Used WMM and made a 90 minute video. Now uploading to yt.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2001
    Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    Were you ever going to tell us when/how you figured it out correctly?

    BTW, I could care less that is being uploaded to YT, though having told us that in the beginning would have raised a red flag about which way to work with your material (helpful). It is clear that because you went with WMM, you are going through at least 3 compression generations to get there (YT), and thus losing a good deal of quality along the way.

    Scott
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads