VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 35
Thread
  1. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    You can now try my new layout with a top menu and less colors.

    At the bottom choose Videohelp new in the drop down-menu. It's next to the English(US) lang drop down.

    I will keep the old layout for you that doesn't like to change anything.
    Quote Quote  
  2. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: 666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    how do you keep the new style? as soon as i leave and come back or click on videohelp.com in the upper left corner it reverts to the old style. it's not a cookie as i have vh cookies always allowed.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  3. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    You can only test it in the forum.

    I'm soon finish with the rest of the site.
    Quote Quote  
  4. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Try now change to the New layout from the www.videohelp.com start page, left menu. It should fix the layout for the rest of the site.
    Quote Quote  
  5. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: 666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    cleaner looking. any way to enable 100% screen? choosing it changes back to old style.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  6. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    I will add the 100%-75% width layouts later.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Banned
    Join Date: Nov 2005
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    i love this new look, at first i thought i was on another site altogether but this quickly grows on you. did you code this yourself or did you use of those WYSIWYG webpage creators?
    Quote Quote  
  8. Really like the new look, well done!
    I am not responsible, and it's been proven over and over again.
    Quote Quote  
  9. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks.

    I code most stuff myself. Except the top menu that I got from http://candpgeneration.com/CSS-dropdowns/CSS3-dropdown.html (way too advance css for me)

    It's hardest to find best colors... I have tested 3843834938 different combinations.

    I'm not that happy the videohelp logo though. So I will keep tweaking it.
    Quote Quote  
  10. New cosmetic broad view looks good with top menu selection.
    IMHO I did not like BLACK colored menu & title bars - black color does not suit VH image, previous color was quite good.
    Default menu selection white color & selected blue does not go well with black background. But, It is my opinion only.

    We also need nice VH logo too! May some Graphic Designer here can help for nice & outstanding logo for FREE.

    Drop Down CSS menu is also good, some FREE CSS menu generator can give you CSS script.
    Seems like you implemented drop down CSS menu already.

    Rest is GooD JoB!
    Last edited by enim; 24th Feb 2014 at 02:25.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I must confess that I like the new lay-out.

    Many may argue that drop-down menus are now old-school but give me these any day to (forget the actual term) options that scroll across the screen

    I do find the 'ViDEOHelp' logo a wee bit distracting since the DEO bit does hit one between the eyes and is odd to the rest of the text layout. A boring 'VideoHelp' looks more natural but there again who gives more than a few milliseconds glance at a logo ?

    Nice work !!!!
    Quote Quote  
  12. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by DB83 View Post
    I do find the 'ViDEOHelp' logo a wee bit distracting since the DEO bit does hit one between the eyes and is odd to the rest of the text layout. A boring 'VideoHelp' looks more natural but there again who gives more than a few milliseconds glance at a logo ?!
    I agree...so I changed it to VideoHelp. But it's still a bit distracting.

    Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Banned
    Join Date: Nov 2005
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    you could try this site to create a new logo:

    http://cooltext.com/

    i used it for my site and i think the results look great:

    http://ironcladpestcontrol.net/
    Quote Quote  
  14. Renegade gll99's Avatar
    Join Date: May 2002
    Location: Canadian Tundra
    Search Comp PM
    Too much of a change on the front page for me so I went back to classic with the reddish/brown color. I will try the new style again when I get over the initial shock.
    There's not much to do but then I can't do much anyway.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2003
    Location: dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    It was time for a change.

    ... although it looks a lot like the default MyCE color scheme.
    Want my help? Ask here! (not via PM!)
    FAQs: Best Blank DiscsBest TBCsBest VCRs for captureRestore VHS
    Quote Quote  
  16. did this site get highjacked or something since the update ? comming back from the games, and loading this webpage last night before i went to bed, the browser closed down on me. i didn't think much of it since i was closing down anyway. i come home this evening and started surfing and now i'm being hit with an ad and pop-ups to no avail relentlessly. i've never had this sort of nonsense before. when i go to the main page and refresh, if i click on an empty area, another page opens. ad's and things. other times i get a scrolling (same) pop-up at the bottom of the webpage. and other times an ad is displayed, covering the bottom of my webpage. and the Tab keeps refreshing. all this is eating up my bandwidh.

    is anyone else having this problems ?

    VHELP's - Sample Clips [last: 12.29.06],
    my YouTube videos
    Quote Quote  
  17. also, to add...

    i went to my folder C:\Documents and Settings\user\Local Settings\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\6mpj58rl.default and deleted everything! then opened firefox and Help\About and downloaded the latest version and installed it from 24.0 to 27.0.1 and still getting this problem.

    VHELP's - Sample Clips [last: 12.29.06],
    my YouTube videos
    Quote Quote  
  18. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vhelp View Post
    is anyone else having this problems ?
    No.

    When it happens can you save the source, view->source, copy everything and attach it(as a file if it doesn't work to paste all html code directly). So I can see if it contains any javascript that shouldn't be there.
    Quote Quote  
  19. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
    It was time for a change.

    ... although it looks a lot like the default MyCE color scheme.
    I haven't visited myce for a long time. But yes, the blue color is similar. But I have some different colors on some pages also, www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks , www.videohelp.com/dvd . .
    Quote Quote  
  20. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Baldrick View Post
    I will keep the old layout for you that doesn't like to change anything.
    Thanks for that

    So I don't have to reconfigure the stupid password manager of my stupid favorite browser
    Quote Quote  
  21. Don't liked new layout
    everything hided in sub menus, not friendly for users
    Thanks for old layout option
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2001
    Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    I like it quite a bit (thread text uses more of the available layout and it's a little cleaner), but I have one wish: can you make the top menu area stick when scrolling? If you are in the middle of a long thread, you have a way to go to get to the links at top or bottom, and that's a big pain (pane? ) especially if you are scrolling on a phone/tablet.

    Scott
    "When will the rhetorical questions end?!" - George Carlin
    Quote Quote  
  23. ditto for the classic (old layout) option. i'm nastagic and stubborn, as usual and it keeps the vcdhelp adrenalynn rush alive. anyway, i seem to be ok again now. also, i went back to opera since firefox took out the option to turn off java script and i couldn't get the ads and other pop-ups to stop no matter what. but here in opera 12.12.1707 and a simple keypress does it all for me, disable F12/java and all is quiet again... { knock on wood } ...and i am using the new look on my work pc, it looks fine on that rig

    VHELP's - Sample Clips [last: 12.29.06],
    my YouTube videos
    Quote Quote  
  24. Hi Baldrick & the Regulars

    Wow ... I happen to be looking for something ... searching ... and here it comes this "New" look ... for a minute I thought I might have gotten to a Spoofed page, or a Hi-jacked site ...

    Anyway, it seems Cleaner ... but I am glad you did not Totally change the whole set up ... so we can still find things ...

    But the New Look works ...

    EDIT: I just tried comparing the New with the Old look ... hmmm, now I have a Mixed feeling.

    Q: Just out of Curiosity ... WHY the Change!?!?

    Thanks,

    G!
    Last edited by gonwk; 25th Feb 2014 at 21:55.
    Quote Quote  
  25. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by gonwk View Post
    Q: Just out of Curiosity ... WHY the Change!?!?

    Thanks,

    G!
    I prefer a top menu. I would have changed it years ago but I have some other projects going on(android and ios programming).


    but I have one wish: can you make the top menu area stick when scrolling?
    Maybe...I will try and see how it looks like.
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member yoda313's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2004
    Location: The Animus
    Search Comp PM
    I like it. I've been using tapatalk to browse the forum lately so I haven't seen the changes until now.

    It is a bit fresher.
    Donatello - The Shredder? Michelangelo - Maybe all that hardware is for making coleslaw?
    Quote Quote  
  27. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    Not-so-obvious glitch

    Quote Quote  
  28. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    You haven't visited the site in some time....or no cookies?
    Quote Quote  
  29. Originally Posted by Baldrick View Post
    You haven't visited the site in some time....or no cookies?
    I think not compatible with opera browser, from my test on opera browser same problem
    but after refresh its OK
    Quote Quote  
  30. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    It's not a bug if it's your FIRST visit with a browser.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads