VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello All,

I have been collecting a lot of VHS and 3/4" umatic tape for a few years and I am finally running out of space. I have been meaning to convert the tapes however I am somewhat afraid to do so. Every so often I come on here and find a different way to archive and I get confused as to which way is the best way for me. My main goal at the moment is to convert to DVD and have a hard drive backup as well so I can store DVDs away and throw away the VHS tapes. Most of them were given to me by other people and most were recorded in EP mode so quality is OK at best, while others are in SP and some S-VHS.

I have purchased a few products recommended by this forum over the years. I do not know how well they are regarded now since it has been a few years since I purchased them. If there are better products out there for my needs I have no problem buying others instead.

Canopus ADVC-300
    DPS Personal TBC III (would a stand alone tbc be better in this case?)
    JVC-S9911U S-VHS.

I also have a Sony/Pioneer DVD/HDD set top Recorder.

Basically I am looking for a help into which direction to go. Some days I get so frustrated that I almost want to get a dvd/vhs combo and do the quick and dirty, but I know that would not yield the best results.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by mark23; 3rd Feb 2014 at 09:56.
    Quote Quote  
  2. mark23: The first thing is you are going to get some great advice on this project here at Videohelp. I am envious of the equipment you have for this task. That s-VHS and TBC will stabilize the video and when it comes to EP recorded video that is a real advantage. The only advice I can give you is that you record the VHS at high quality settings with your capture card. I am assuming it is going to record to mpeg2 video. Since your first ambition is to make DVDs, the first thing is to get the capture card set to DVD compliant specs.