VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
Thread
  1. Hi, I have been capturing live tv on my pc and I have trouble getting exactly what I want. So I came here for advice/help

    What I want to do is end up with a file that will be as close to the scene releases that are made (from well known release groups).


    I am using the following capture card: AverTV HD DVR (C027) and using AverMediaCenter to record the stream (connected via HDMI and using a hacked versionthat removed the HDCP protection).


    My cable box is configured to output 720p video and I'm capturing from and HD channel


    My first concern is what are the best format (and settings) to record the stream in AverMediaCenter?
    Should I capture in MPEG-2 or H.264?
    What Settings should I use for the capture (for the better format)? (resolution, bitrate, audio setting etc...)


    After that I usually need to cut the video file (ie to remove commercials and get the good starting and ending position) I currently use Boilsoft Video cutter.
    Should I cut the file before converting it or should I do the conversion first and then cut the file?


    right now I was using Boilsoft Video cutter to re-encode the video, but I also used handbrake (if I remember correctly) in the past to convert it to the desired format.


    The final format I would want to achieve is to have a MP4 file that is close the the scene standards (not a HD release, I want something like what the group LOL is releasing for The Simpsons).


    What should I use to convert and what settings should I use?


    I'm asking for a lot of information, but any help would be appreciated. I'm lost in all those settings and options.


    If you need more information on my setup/needs I will gladly provide them.


    thanks
    The_Dogg
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Capture in 720p with highest possible bitrate. Try h264.
    Cut with boilsoft if you can save the video lossless.
    Shrink with megui. Use the one click converter and try different presets that matches scene releases.


    But I guess many scene releases are made from sources that are digital recorded directly instead of captured.
    Quote Quote  
  3. thanks, I will try that, this helps me a lot
    The_Dogg
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by Baldrick View Post
    Capture in 720p with highest possible bitrate. Try h264.
    Cut with boilsoft if you can save the video lossless.
    Shrink with megui. Use the one click converter and try different presets that matches scene releases.


    But I guess many scene releases are made from sources that are digital recorded directly instead of captured.
    I'm having issues with the video created with MeGUI, I noticed that the resulting file has 21fps and this is what I suspect the problem is (Audio seems out of sync) I can't find any settings to specify the fps. any idea?
    The_Dogg
    Quote Quote  
  5. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Post the details from your captured video.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Originally Posted by Baldrick View Post
    Post the details from your captured video.
    Code:
    GeneralComplete name :   C:\Users\The_Dogg\Videos\20140109123830.mp4  
    Format :   MPEG-4  
    Format profile :   Base Media / Version 2  
    Codec ID :   mp42  
    File size :   976 MiB  
    Duration :   13mn 24s  
    Overall bit rate mode :   Variable  
    Overall bit rate :   10.2 Mbps  
    Encoded date :   UTC 2014-01-09 17:38:33  
    Tagged date :   UTC 2014-01-09 17:38:33  
    Video
    ID :   2  
    Format :   AVC  
    Format/Info :   Advanced Video Codec  
    Format profile :   Main@L3.1  
    Format settings, CABAC :   Yes  
    Format settings, ReFrames :   2 frames  
    Format settings, GOP :   M=1, N=30  
    Codec ID :   avc1  
    Codec ID/Info :   Advanced Video Coding  
    Duration :   13mn 24s  
    Source duration :   13mn 24s  
    Bit rate mode :   Variable  
    Bit rate :   9 854 Kbps  
    Maximum bit rate :   12.0 Mbps  
    Width :   1 280 pixels  
    Height :   720 pixels  
    Display aspect ratio :   16:9  
    Frame rate mode :   Variable  
    Frame rate :   52.795 fps  
    Original frame rate :   30.000 fps  
    Minimum frame rate :   7.059 fps  
    Maximum frame rate :   60.000 fps  
    Color space :   YUV  
    Chroma subsampling :   4:2:0  
    Bit depth :   8 bits  
    Scan type :   Progressive  
    Bits/(Pixel*Frame) :   0.203  
    Stream size :   945 MiB (97%)  
    Source stream size :   945 MiB (97%)  
    Language :   English  
    Encoded date :   UTC 2014-01-09 17:38:33  
    Tagged date :   UTC 2014-01-09 17:38:33  
    mdhd_Duration :   804563  
    Audio
    ID :   1  
    Format :   AAC  
    Format/Info :   Advanced Audio Codec  
    Format profile :   LC  
    Codec ID :   40  
    Duration :   13mn 24s  
    Source duration :   13mn 24s  
    Bit rate mode :   Constant  
    Bit rate :   320 Kbps  
    Nominal bit rate :   128 Kbps  
    Channel(s) :   2 channels  
    Channel positions :   Front: L R  
    Sampling rate :   48.0 KHz  
    Compression mode :   Lossy  
    Stream size :   30.7 MiB (3%)  
    Source stream size :   30.7 MiB (3%)  
    Language :   English  
    Encoded date :   UTC 2014-01-09 17:38:33  
    Tagged date :   UTC 2014-01-09 17:38:33  
    mdhd_Duration :   804820
    that is the video from the capture, I can post the details of the converted (MeGUI) file if you want them also
    Last edited by The_Dogg; 9th Jan 2014 at 15:30.
    The_Dogg
    Quote Quote  
  7. Broadcaster bigass's Avatar
    Join Date: Dec 2006
    Location: Halifax, NS Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Well, don't record at variable frame rate. Record at the frame rate that matches the source.

    Your recording says:
    Frame rate mode : Variable Frame rate : 52.795 fps Original frame rate : 30.000 fps Minimum frame rate : 7.059 fps Maximum frame rate : 60.000 fps
    Quote Quote  
  8. Originally Posted by bigass View Post
    Well, don't record at variable frame rate. Record at the frame rate that matches the source.

    Your recording says:
    Frame rate mode : Variable Frame rate : 52.795 fps Original frame rate : 30.000 fps Minimum frame rate : 7.059 fps Maximum frame rate : 60.000 fps
    I'm using AverMediaCenter to record and I dont see any setting for the frame rate.


    here are the settings I have and the values i used:



    The_Dogg
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2008
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Instead of AverMediaCenter, try an alternative software. Perhaps AmarecTV ?
    Quote Quote  
  10. Banned
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    -30-
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 09:38.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
    Originally Posted by The_Dogg View Post
    Should I capture in MPEG-2 or H.264?
    You can't use MPEG2 for standard HD. And you won't see "MP4" listed as valid for any HD disc format.

    Variable frame rates are not valid for standard BluRay/AVCHD or DVD.
    The specs: http://www.videohelp.com/hd#tech

    Be careful about using the term "convert". I think what you really mean is "re-encode," which entails quality loss.
    Yes you are right I meant re-encode.


    My goal is not to have my files on a disc, I'm just trying to have files similar to what the release groups are doing.


    I did a capture test with avermediacenter, I captured in MPEG-2 and it gave me a constant frame rate of 60 fps.


    but now when I re-encode with MeGUI the resulting file is also 60 fps, is there any way to specify it in MeGUI?


    I will also try handbrake to re-encode and see if I can achieve my desired result
    The_Dogg
    Quote Quote  
  12. Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Instead of AverMediaCenter, try an alternative software. Perhaps AmarecTV ?
    I havent tried any other program to capture yet. I read somewhere that the card I'm using only works with AverMediaCenter (but I'm not sure that information is true). I do like the fact that I found a hacked version (in this forum) that removes the HDCP protection so I can now ditch my component cables and use hdmi.


    I also want to make use of the scheduling in AverMediaCenter, but I cannot get it to work at all, the new entry that I create never appears in the list.


    So if I were to use another program I would want that it has a way to schedule recording. If you know any please let me know.
    The_Dogg
    Quote Quote  
  13. Banned
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    -30-
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 09:38.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads