VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3
1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 85
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2013
    Location: Utah
    Search Comp PM
    I digitized all my VHS about 10 years ago, and got rid of all my stuff. Like many, I actually kept a few tapes for some reason.

    Now I was to digitize those again. I have 10-20 tapes. Some commercial, and some SP and EPs that are home-made.

    My VCR plays my tapes well. It only outputs through RCA jacks.

    My PC runs Windows 7, with a Pentium Core i5 2400 @ 3.1, 8 Gb of RAM, and tons of HDD space.

    None of these recordings are very good to begin with: mostly copies of professionally/commercially produced originals circulated between professors for classroom use.

    I'm sorry to ask, but I find this forum very frustrating sometimes ...

    Could someone point me to hardware recommendations to do this job well but not perfectly?

    Could someone point me to some basic directions about cleaning up my digitization and then compressing it?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    -30-
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 03:33.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2013
    Location: Utah
    Search Comp PM
    It is a JVC HR-VP676U. It is 19-23 years old. It's been relatively well-maintained. I think the important thing is that the tapes I have play (as well as can be expected, and were often recorded) on this machine.

    In 2001-3, I used an external unit (not sure which one). Plugged my VCR into it, plugged it into a USB, and off I went. I burned files that were the size of DVD quality file (about 2.5 Gb to the hour), did some editing and clean-up with Pinnacle Studio, and then burned those to DVD.

    I am mostly now interested in getting files that are appropriate to the quality of the source material. I imagine that an hour of EP VHS tape does not contain that much data, and that if I do it right, I can make a digital copy, clean it up, and get something comparable that is way more compact (mostly so students can stream it to their tablets or phones).
    Quote Quote  
  4. Banned
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    -30-
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 03:33.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2013
    Location: Utah
    Search Comp PM
    This helps with the software, sanlyn. What about the hardware?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Banned
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    -30-
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 03:34.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2013
    Location: Utah
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for the links. Very helpful.

    I definitely think I will replay the source tapes on my current VCR (the JVC mentioned above).

    No one told me about a line-level tcb back then. Can someone recommend makes, models or prices?

    Last time, I went straight to MPEG-2. I think this time I would like to do AVI.

    So I need something to do the capture. My understanding was that external units were better (because of noise/interference sources inside my PC).
    Quote Quote  
  8. Banned
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    -30-
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 03:34.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2013
    Location: Utah
    Search Comp PM
    I do not have a standalone DVD recorder like you describe. I have a burner in my PC - probably not adequate for what you describe.

    I am guessing that the early 90's vintage VCR I'll be using (JVC HR-VP676U) does not have line-level TBC (although is there a site that lists units that I could browse through, or something I could look for in the manual).

    I do see in the manual that this unit can play s-VHS (it cannot record s-VHS). Does that help? My guess is that it's meaningless.

    Also, as I remarked, it has the old-fashioned YRW RCA outputs only.

    Is there a reasonable alternative to a vintage 2000-5 Panasonic or Toshiba DVD recorder for line-level TCB?

    I have no objection to putting a new card in my PC. Care to recommend one? Alternatively, it sounds like you're saying some people would say the VC500 is just as good. Is that correct? It certainly is cheap, would save a little time, and has the YRW RCA jacks I need.

    If I am correct in all this, my chain would be something like VCR > YRW cables > DVD Recorder inputs > DVD recorder output > some sort of cable (should it still be YRW, or should I switch) > VC500 or a some internal card > USB cable > PC with VirtualDub installed. This would bring in AVI cost effectively that is in good enough shape that I could clean it up, and then output to MPEG, right?

    I am also wondering about quality of my source. At best this is (old and worn) commercially produced SP, at worst it is (old and worn) EP copy of some source that might have been SP.

    P.S. I find this sort of amusing. I never was much of an expert, but I'd already digitized all my tapes and gotten rid of my equipment by the time you (sanlyn) joined the forum.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2013
    Location: Utah
    Search Comp PM
    My thread is dying ...

    To start with, I think it best to play my tapes on the unit that recorded them. This has only composite output.

    It it worthwhile to find a unit with component or S-video outputs (that might not play nice with my tapes)?
    Quote Quote  
  11. Banned
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    -30-
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 03:34.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2013
    Location: Utah
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you sanlyn. I wasn't implying I was impatient with you ... I was kind of hoping someone else would chip in and ease your burden if I asked a shorter question.

    There's a lot to process here. I will reply in a few days as I sort it out.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Banned
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    -30-
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 03:34.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2013
    Location: Utah
    Search Comp PM
    My Firefox history for the last few weeks disappeared into the ether ...

    I had some unsaved links about decent DVD recorders to put into my line - with the actual model numbers for Panasonics and Toshibas to look for on EBay.

    Can someone just reply back with a handful of model numbers to use for line-level TBC between my VHS player and a VC500?

    I seem to remember ES-10/15/20 as one of them ...
    Quote Quote  
  15. Banned
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    -30-
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 03:34.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2013
    Location: Utah
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for the refresher ...

    As recommended above, I will probably just use these as a passthrough to capture AVI. I really don't have much interest in converting straight to MPEG-2 (I went down that path a decade ago, and am trying to improve on it this time around).
    Quote Quote  
  17. Banned
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    -30-
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 03:35.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2013
    Location: Utah
    Search Comp PM
    I am confused by the variation in model numbers. For example, on EBay there is an:

    RD-XS35SU with a current bid of $53

    But there is also an

    RD-XS25 for $650 or best offer

    Is the SU on the end of the first one meaningful?
    Quote Quote  
  19. Banned
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    -30-
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 03:35.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2013
    Location: Utah
    Search Comp PM
    My hardware is now set up: VCR > composite cables > Toshiba D-KR2 > composite cables > Diamond VC-500 > USB > Windows PC.

    Now I am worried about software.

    The Diamond unit installs its own software (with codecs, I'm sure). Am I supposed to use HuffYUV instead? If yes, how do I do this: it just seems to be the bare codec with no front end.

    I guess I have my choice of Avisynth or VirtualDub, right? Is this choice mainly variety vs. GUI?

    Once I've post-produced my AVI file, then I should use HC encoder to compress, right?
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2013
    Location: Utah
    Search Comp PM
    I have figured out how to install HuffYUV_mt, and have set VirtualDub to use it.

    Now having trouble getting VirtualDub to use audio codecs.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Banned
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    -30-
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 03:35.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Originally Posted by boobounder View Post
    My hardware is now set up: VCR > composite cables > Toshiba D-KR2 > composite cables > Diamond VC-500 > USB > Windows PC.

    Now I am worried about software.

    The Diamond unit installs its own software (with codecs, I'm sure). Am I supposed to use HuffYUV instead? If yes, how do I do this: it just seems to be the bare codec with no front end.

    I guess I have my choice of Avisynth or VirtualDub, right? Is this choice mainly variety vs. GUI?

    Once I've post-produced my AVI file, then I should use HC encoder to compress, right?

    Many people in this forum are loyal fans of Avisynth, so you 'd certainly get this recommendation.
    However, there are several GUI tools that I don't know why people here rarely mention...
    1> AvsPmod --- an IDE for easier AVS script writing, with a preview window.
    2> VirtualDubMod --- with a GUI allowing you to choose and arrange your AVS commands/filters
    3> AviUtl --- A much better alternative than VirtualDub. Supports more file format trouble-free and also reads AVS script. The extra pack you can get from this site also includes a number of color correction, denoise, deinterlace/IVTC filters(better performance than vd).

    but without a sample, we cannot tell for sure what filters will you need to cleanup the video.

    so, get the hardware working and produce a digital video in any format first.

    If you are a university staff, I'd suggest you to consult your IT department/colleagues first.

    Good luck!
    Quote Quote  
  24. Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
    Problem: huffyuv doesn't support YV12. Lagarith does. Why is that a problem? You'll have to convert eventually to YV12 because that's the colorspace used by DVD, BluRay, AVCHD, and DV-AVI.
    The huffyuv encoder which comes with ffdshow does.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Banned
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    -30-
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 03:35.
    Quote Quote  
  26. I can't say I've ever had a problem decoding huffyuv with ffdshow regardless of which version was used for encoding. I converted a short AVI with Video To Video Converter and ffdshow decoded the AVI it created, reporting it as HFYU (huffyuv), output YUV. After using ffdshow to encode the same AVI the codec was reported as FFVH (ffvhuff) and the output as YV12. It looks like ffdshow should decode either flavour, even if ffdshow is required to decode the ffdshow flavour.

    I only ever use it as an intermediate lossless format myself, so it's not so much of a big deal. Once the final encoding is done I'd delete the lossless file. Although I guess if it wasn't for the fact I already have ffdshow installed I'd use something else such as Lagarith.
    Quote Quote  
  27. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2013
    Location: Utah
    Search Comp PM
    I am still digesting the most recent posts.

    My hardware chain is updated a little: (the original for most copies JVC HR-VP676U) VCR > composite cables > Toshiba D-KR2 > S-video and audio composite cables > Diamond VC-500 > USB > Windows 7 PC with a second, brand new, video-dedicated, SATA HD.

    I am not using the capture software that came with the Diamond VC-500.

    I solved my audio problem: it was wetware not software.

    I did finally get huffyuv_mt to work with VirtualDub. I have been able to capture large, lossless files with zero frames dropped (and have been really impressed with what I got).

    1) Is frame dropping the criterion I should be judging my capture by at this point?
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I will be converting primarily two types of VHS: 1) original SP commercial productions, mostly educational shorts that you'd get with textbooks (so probably not that great quality to begin with), and 2) copies of same, some SP, some EP.

    The goal is to produce decent looking digitizations, mostly for posting on a website. This is mostly old, curiosity stuff, so I anticipate users mostly downloading them to view on a device of their choice rather than streaming.

    Sanlyn is kind of hung up on me doing DVDs because I mentioned at the top of the thread that I'd digitized to DVDs before. But that was 10+ years ago. This not my goal this time around.

    2a) So, for my current purposes, should I use huffyuv_mt or Lagarith for capture?
    2b) I have been using VirtualDub for capture, is that OK?
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I do not have much of a preference for filtering software. I have been playing with VirtualDub filter stacks (but am not so invested that I couldn't switch to AVIsynth, AvsPmod, VirtualDubMod, or AviUtl).

    I am confused when Sanlyn says that I should use Lagarith for processing. It seems to me that I will have one codec for lossless capture, that I will process with filters, and then save with another codec in a lossy format.

    3) Where does Lagarith fit in that process?
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    One immediate problem that I am having that I don't see mentioned in discussions of filters is that I am getting occasional frames that are solid blue. Since VirtualDub is reporting zero dropped frames, this makes me think that the source tape is damaged in spots, and the solid blue frame is a correct capture of non-existent data.

    I am guessing that the solution to this is a filter that will blend adjacent frames and substitute for the blue one.

    4a) What is the recommended filter for this?
    4b) I am guessing that this filter would need to go first in my stack, right?
    Quote Quote  
  28. Banned
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    -30-
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 03:36.
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2013
    Location: Utah
    Search Comp PM
    [QUOTE=sanlyn;2299794]Lagarith is lossless. I suggested Lagarith for compressing intermediate files because it has no problem with machine-to-machine transfers ... </QUOTE>

    So, you're envisioning me doing some processing on a lossless file on one machine, and then taking that file to another machine for more lossless compression. Is that the reason to use Lagarith?

    [QUOTE=sanlyn;2299794]Why do you think there's something wrong about lossless capture using VirtualDub?</QUOTE>

    I don't have any problem with VirtualDub. Just asking.

    Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
    VirtualDub has no filter that creates new frames using motion interpolation. You'll need Avisynth for that. I don't think VDub creates blue screen frames. The last time I saw that during a capture (maybe 15 years ago), it came from the VCR.
    Agreed. I think they are coming from the VCR. What is the name of an AVIsynth filter that can remove them?
    Quote Quote  
  30. Originally Posted by boobounder View Post
    What is the name of an AVIsynth filter that can remove them?
    Remove them? And throw the audio out of synch? Or interpolate to create new frames to replace them? To remove them, maybe stickboy's DeleteFrames filter, part of his ApplyEvery filter:

    http://www.avisynth.nl/users/stickboy/

    To interpolate a new frame in place of the blue frame I use gavino's FixBadFrames filter:

    http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/322848-Scripts-and-filters-for-an-Opera-%28sample-v...es#post2089696

    or jagabo's (and others') ReplaceFramesMC which can also replace two or more in sequence:

    http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/353818-luma-error-on-VHS-restoration?p=2224484&high...mc#post2224484
    Last edited by manono; 4th Feb 2014 at 20:10.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads