VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi all,
    I'm a newbie, when it comes to DVD Authoring, so please excuse the misuse of terminology and my ignorance. I desperately need some help with authoring a DVD with multiple layered menu's.

The project is a dvd Manual for components with short 2-3 minute video clips on each component. These components then join to form more complex components, and this repeats between 4-5 times.

The manufacturer wants a DVD which shows the master part assemled and can then drill down into each component.

I have managed to accomplish the request by creating multiple little DVD's using Nero Vision and then joining them using dvdremake pro and then joining those dvd's again using DRMP.

The customer however wants animated menu's all the way through and so now, I am stuck. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Please forgive any mistakes I may make on this forum, as this is my first post ever.
    Quote Quote  
  2. If I'm reading this correctly, you've got the structure and the authoring sorted, but you're looking for a way to make animated transitions to create the illusion of drilling down between menus. Is that correct?

The standard tool would be After Effects, but there are other 2D animation programs as well. You create a short clip where the start and end frames match the "from" and "to" menus, render them out as standard DVD mpeg files and then add them into your existing structure. So the "clip1" button rather than going straight to clip1 would (for example) go to the animation, then to clip1, then to another animation pulling out of clip1 and then returning to the menu.

In general, much of what menus appear to be doing is an illusion based on this simple trick.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM