VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    it works fine in the PC, but when I tried on both of the devices I mentioned, it didn't show up and said it is a video of unsupported format, but the user manual says that the device supports wmv file. I have tried to research the problem, then came to conclusion that the video codec was the reason it won't play even though the file extension is wmv. Please correct me if I am wrong, how do I know what is the video codec because I cannot see it in the properties, how can I alter it so that it is compatible, and also what are your suggestions so that it play on both device? Please help, I am complete beginner
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Install MediaInfo on your PC. Open the video with it. Post the results here.

It is possible that your problem is that your players do not expect WMV to be on CD media and you must use DVD. You might try just copying the file to DVD and see if that fixes the problem.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jman98 View Post

It is possible that your problem is that your players do not expect WMV to be on CD media and you must use DVD. You might try just copying the file to DVD and see if that fixes the problem.
    I tried taking a new DVD ROM and tried burning into it and it said it could not because of format problem. I will try mediainfo also thank you. I have been downloading video converters and they only gave me virus and couldn't even upload.
    Last edited by Taffss; 4th Oct 2013 at 14:03.
    Quote Quote  
  4. DECEASED
    Search Comp PM
    Blame it on the Microsoft PR Department for their confusing terminology:

WMV = an ASF file that contains Windows Media Video (then go back to the beginning...)

There are THREE types of WMV: version 1 = 7, version 2 = 8, and version 3 = 9. Some devices (very uncommon, I suppose) can play any kind of WMV, whereas other devices support either WMV1+WMV2 or WMV3 only