VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. In short: No matter how many times I install a H264/AVC VFW codec, Virtualdub keeps giving me the "cannot find decoder for H264" error.

Hello, I am new to the world of video editing, so please excuse me if my terminology is wrong

All I want to do is split video files. I have downloaded a few AVI and MP4 videos and wish to cut out segments (commercials) and save the pieces as separate files. While I have been using mainly AviDemux for this, every now and then AviDemux doesn't work. (I cannot scroll the seek bar, or sometimes it will lose a significant part of ending frames).

As a result, I am trying to use Virtualdub for these troublesome files. I have installed/uninstalled the x264vfw codec multiple times, but every time I try to open the AVI with VDub I still get the same "cannot find decoder" error. x264 also does not show up in the list under "Video--> Compression". I also tried ffdshow, and even when I set the H264/AVC to libavcodec, the error remains.

My OS is 64 Bit Windows 8 but my Virtualdubs, ffdshow and x264VFW are all the 32 bit type. The videos play fine with VLC, so I know the files aren't corrupted.

Any tips on how to troubleshoot?

Thank you,
    Ichigofan
    Last edited by ichigofan; 31st Jul 2013 at 21:14.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    There are multiple H264/X264/AVC codecs and they do not ALL install correctly or smoothly. Always reboot after trying and see if it is in the compressions to be sure. These are some of the ones I tried:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenHunter_16 Jul. 31 21.12.jpg
Views:	9820
Size:	24.3 KB
ID:	19149