VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi,

I've been using handbrake for encoding for a few months now, but I've never used the Constant Quality setting, I've always just set the bitrate to what I want. But the thing is, I've recently decided not to worry about file size when I encode, because I just want the best possible quality, and lately I've just been setting the bitrate very high in order to keep the highest quality possible, and I was wondering if using the constant quality setting and putting it as high as it can go, will result in better quality with less overkill in terms of bitrate/filesize?

Because, I was thinking that perhaps I might be using too high a bitrate with no real need for it. I hope some of you can understand what I'm trying to say, I may not have worded it very well...

Basically, would setting Constant Quality as high as it can go, be better than choosing a bitrate that could possibly be too much?

And before anyone says "if you want the highest possible quality, then don't encode at all"... I have to encode these files, I have no other option...

Thanks to anyone willing to help
    Quote Quote  
  2. Originally Posted by Ronaldinho View Post
    I was wondering if using the constant quality setting and putting it as high as it can go, will result in better quality
    Yes. But...

Originally Posted by Ronaldinho View Post
    with less overkill in terms of bitrate/filesize?
    No, more overkill. The highest quality setting is RF=0 -- that will get you lossless encoding and you will get gigantic files. Look for a better compromise setting. Most people settle for round RF 15 to 21. You'll always get the quality you want and the bitrate will be exactly what's needed for that quality. If you then go back and make a 2-pass VBR encode at that same average bitrate the two videos will be nearly identical.
    Quote Quote  
  3. okay, thanks.

But, is it really lossles encoding, or just close to? Because I thought h.264 was lossy...