VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. This is the upscaled 720p:
    http://limelinx.com/d9k52

I tried looking at the encoding parameters using MPC-HC but looks like that's a compressed re-encoded file, probably the original uncompressed 720p looks even better.

This is a 576p version of that:
    http://limelinx.com/filje

They're both pretty good and I think that both were (probably) encoded from a 480p VOB source (because it's a DVD rip). You can see the difference using these snapshots in full-screen mode:

Snapshot 720p PNG
    Snapshot 576p PNG

How do I obtain the same good results of that 720p if I want to upscale a 480p VOB? I'm really a beginner and so far I've used only MeGUI, do I need more programs or I can do everything just with this?

If you want to see the file I want to upscale, I'm uploading it now and I'll post the link later (my upload is kinda slow and it's 200 MB file). I'd like to convert it from MPEG2 480p to AVC 720p, using x264 at 10-bits.

Thanks in advance!!
    Last edited by Kyousuke; 7th May 2013 at 10:46. Reason: snapshots
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Welcome.

Few members if any wouild download a 200MB video clip. Better to link to a smaller sample or two of a few seconds. You will get many more comments. If you don;t know how to cut a smaller clip from a VOB without damaging the original source, ask here.

Offhand, the image show very high black levels and severely clipped highlights. The images therefore look under saturated and washed out. Bright highlight detail in some scenes is destroyed and cannot be retrieved.

[Attachment 17708 - Click to enlarge]

[Attachment 17709 - Click to enlarge]
    Last edited by sanlyn; 28th Mar 2014 at 15:05.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Yes, fix the levels first. Then use an upscaler like nnedi3_rpow2. Sharpen a bit. Apply a line darkener like FastLineDarkenMod9().
    Quote Quote