VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Aug 2009
    Location: New Zealand
    Search Comp PM
    i need to change .m4a to .aac as my phone will not play .m4a

    i have tried renaming them but that did not work

    and i have tested a .aac file and it plays fine

    anybody know how??
    Quote Quote  
  2. FormatFactory will do all of them at once just by dragging the files in and selecting 'Audio' and 'All to aac'. You select the bitrate. Xmedia Recode will probably do just audio as well but it's a little more involved.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date: Aug 2009
    Location: New Zealand
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by transporterfan View Post
    FormatFactory will do all of them at once just by dragging the files in and selecting 'Audio' and 'All to aac'. You select the bitrate. Xmedia Recode will probably do just audio as well but it's a little more involved.
    so there is no way to change to to aac without converting ???

    like you can change mp4 to mkv without converting
    Quote Quote  
  4. No. They are different formats, not containers.
    Actually i just discovered you can put it into an mpeg-4 container without changing anything.
    Haven't done it myself, Cornucopia will likely know.

    Or check here and reverse everything:

    http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/301218-aac-to-m4a-possible
    Last edited by transporterfan; 19th Apr 2013 at 03:57.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member bat999's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jamespoo View Post

    so there is no way to change to to aac without converting ???

    like you can change mp4 to mkv without converting
    Check the m4a files with MediaInfo.
    If the m4a files contain aac then you can change without converting.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date: Aug 2009
    Location: New Zealand
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    Originally Posted by jamespoo View Post

    so there is no way to change to to aac without converting ???

    like you can change mp4 to mkv without converting
    Check the m4a files with MediaInfo.
    If the m4a files contain aac then you can change without converting.
    Audio: AAC 44100Hz stereo 146kbps [Audio]
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member bat999's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jamespoo View Post

    Audio: AAC 44100Hz stereo 146kbps [Audio]
    That's OK.
    No need to convert.
    Just re-package.

    One method is to use FFmpeg/WinFF
    Like this:-
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i filename.m4a -c:a copy filename.aac
    But other software is available.
    Last edited by bat999; 19th Apr 2013 at 04:29.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: Aug 2009
    Location: New Zealand
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    Originally Posted by jamespoo View Post

    Audio: AAC 44100Hz stereo 146kbps [Audio]
    That's OK.
    No need to convert.
    Just re-package.

    One method is to use FFmpeg/WinFF
    Like this:-
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i filename.m4a -c:a copy filename.aac
    But othersoftware is available.
    ive never done anything like that before where do i enter that ?
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member bat999's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jamespoo View Post
    ive never done anything like that before where do i enter that ?
    Read the documentation ---> http://ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg.html
    Or use different software.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date: Aug 2009
    Location: New Zealand
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    Originally Posted by jamespoo View Post
    ive never done anything like that before where do i enter that ?
    Read the documentation ---> http://ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg.html
    Or use different software.
    thx you
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2011
    Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
    Search Comp PM
    I'd recommend audacity myself.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads