+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: France
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,

    I came across this website:

    http://www.firstload.com/index.php?layout=22

    and thought the content looked interesting. Trouble is, I'm not sure what it's doing is legal or whether any of the files you can download are safe.

    Is there any guidance available on this sort of website?

    Thanks

    DAS
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2011
    Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
    Search Comp PM
    1 - that's a pirate site, and while I'm not rabidly anti that sort of thing myself, it's against forum rules.

    2 - I am not going to even click on that link or any other file sharing sites. Even in linux. What I am going to do is a web search for the site.

    3 - which I just did, and it does not look encouraging. Frankly, if someone gets a virus from one of those file sharing sites I'm not going to give them a shoulder to cry on. Even the sites that aren't from Transnistria.
    Quote Quote  
  3. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: 666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    don't click on the link! the site is a known malware injection site. just visiting can infect your computer. other than that it's a crappy usenet site and of course nothing on it is legal.

    http://www.scumware.org/report/www.firstload.com
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: France
    Search Comp PM
    So how did you know it's a pirate site?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: France
    Search Comp PM
    By the way, am I now at risk of having been infected? I only visited the front page of the site and came away.
    Quote Quote  
  6. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: 666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    depends on what browser, o.s., and what antivirus is running. but yes, so do a complete malware scan.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  7. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: 666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by DrAlanStatham View Post
    So how did you know it's a pirate site?

    google - all usenet sites are known for their warz.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Search   Contact us   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Tools