VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello all, I've been searching this forum for the past 2 weeks trying to find a solution to my problem.

Basically I have a bullet camera which I use for in-car recording of motor racing. It records 1080p 30fps. The problem is when I author it onto a PAL DVD the racing becomes blured and looks dull and film like (due to being Progressive?)

What I would like you experts to tell me is if there is anyway I can interlace this footage to burn onto a Pal DVD and make it look good. I might like to point out this will be played back on a CRT Widescreen TV.

I will need some step by step guides please as I'm a novice at this

Many thanks in advance
    Last edited by Prototype_uk; 26th Nov 2012 at 17:25.
    Quote Quote  
  2. You realize 720i isn't any standard, and definitely not a DVD standard? Did you mean 576i? Converting your 1080p30 video to 576i25 isn't going to help with blurriness or dull colors. It will make the video play a little smoother than 576p25 though.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    You realize 720i isn't any standard, and definitely not a DVD standard? Did you mean 576i? Converting your 1080p30 video to 576i25 isn't going to help with blurriness or dull colors. It will make the video play a little smoother than 576p25 though.
    Yes sorry I ment 576i25, I had 720x576i in my mind lol

Playing a little smoother would be acceptable, can you guide me through how to do it please?
    Quote Quote  
  4. I don't know what editors have the ability. I would use an AviSynth script. You probably don't want to go that route but here's a sample script:

Code:
    DirectShowSource("filename.ext") # open a 1080p30 source
    AssumeTFF() # top field first is more common for DVD
    BicubicResize(720,576) # DVD compatible frame size
    ChangeFPS(50) # duplicate frames to make 50 fps
    SeparateFields().SelectEvery(4,0,3).Weave() # make it 25i