VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello!

I need help. I have very little experience setting up sound equipment. My wife and I just bought a new house and one of the rooms came with a surround sound system. I believe it is an NHT system from the 90's. It is a 5.1 system. I have gotten the 5 speakers working by buying a Yamaha Av Receiver (RX-V371). This is when I relized the sub is a passive sub (didn't know what that was before), but I believe it needs an amp? The model of the sub is NHT SW2P. (Impedance 8 Ohms).

My question is how to get this sub woofer working. ON the back of my Yamaha Ave Receiver is one output spot for the subwoofer. And on my subwoofter (SW2p), it only has (2) speaker wire things (red and black). I need to buy an Amp correct? Also what type of amp / specs should I be looking for. And how do I connect this to my receiver? (doing a google search it appears the original Amp would have been a MA-1A)

On a side note, does anyone know if this sound system is good relative to the systems out there now? just curious?

I am hoping this is a very simple answer. I really appreciate your time and help.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Search Comp PM