VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Location: Budapest
    Search Comp PM
    Hello Guys!

    How can I render/save video with lossless codecs in Sony Vegas pro 12?

    I can save videos only in MFX (mpeg??) video format.

    I would like to use FFV1 or Huffyuv.

    Than you for your reply!
    Last edited by Stears555; 17th Oct 2012 at 11:02.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2001
    Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    You can certainly save in more than just MXF.
    Code:
    File | RenderAs | (save as type)=Video for Windows/AVI
    Click {Custom} button,
    Click {Video} tab,
    (Video Format) = Cineform HD codec
    and then save this as a new Template.

    Scott
    "When will the rhetorical questions end?!" - George Carlin
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Location: Budapest
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Cornucopia View Post
    You can certainly save in more than just MXF.
    Code:
    File | RenderAs | (save as type)=Video for Windows/AVI
    Click {Custom} button,
    Click {Video} tab,
    (Video Format) = Cineform HD codec
    and then save this as a new Template.

    Scott

    HI!

    But... are there any options / possibility for real lossless or uncompressed video?
    Quote Quote  
  4. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: 666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    you should have access to the codecs you have installed. for working in vegas i use their own sony yuv codec.

    Name:  2012-10-17_133413.png
Views: 2339
Size:  45.4 KB
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2001
    Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    Yes, as you can see from aedipuss's pic, he has a number of options of that sort: Uncompressed, HuffYUV, Lagarith, Intel IYUV (kinda), Sony 10-bit Yuv, Cineform (lossy, but visually lossless), and further sub-options within the ffdshow codec. And that's just for AVI.

    Scott
    Last edited by Cornucopia; 17th Oct 2012 at 23:25.
    "When will the rhetorical questions end?!" - George Carlin
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Location: Budapest
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Cornucopia View Post
    Yes, as you can see from aedipuss's pic, he has a number of options of that sort: Uncompressed, HuffYUV, Lagarith, Intel IYUV (kinda), Sony 10-bit Yuv, Cineform (lossy, but visually lossless), and further sub-options within the ffdshow codec. And that's just for AVI.

    Scott

    I installed ffdshow x64, and I examined the options of ffdshow. All codecs in ffdshow were set to liba codec, but I can't find lagarith or huffyuv in the sony vegas (((

    Where can I download the standalone huffyuv x64 installer?
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date: Jun 2012
    Location: USA
    Search Comp PM
    Ever been curious why certain words in your posts turn red ?



    Click on them.
    Last edited by smrpix; 18th Oct 2012 at 06:50.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Location: Budapest
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by smrpix View Post
    Ever been curious why certain words in your posts turn red ?



    Click on them.
    Even the K-lite and Ffdshow couldn't help me.

    These encoders doesn't appear in Sony Vegas. But I wasn't suprised, Sony Vegas isn't the best video editor.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date: Jun 2012
    Location: USA
    Search Comp PM
    K-Lite codec pack is a good way to cripple your computer. I assume you read the warning.

    Just for kicks, try the huffyuv 32 bit version and see if you get any results.

    And if you don't like Vegas try Avid or Premiere Pro. They're a little harder to get...
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2001
    Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    Having worked extensively on AVID MediaComposer, Adobe Premiere, Apple FCP, Canopus/GV Edius, AND Sony Vegas (plus a little Lightwave, Media100, others), I can tell you with certainty that Vegas holds its own for all but the largest/most complicated or most multi-user of projects. For all-in-one, one-man-band projects, it's a clear winner. So this business of Vegas not being the best editor is total BS, and probably more due to a USER's incompetence.

    It's likely that codec inavailability has more to do with choices of 32 vs. 64 bit and VFW vs. Directshow vs. Proprietary installs. These codecs (as plugins) need to match the editor install. IOW, if you have Vegas 64bit, you probably can't use ANY 32bit codecs.

    Scott
    "When will the rhetorical questions end?!" - George Carlin
    Quote Quote  
  11. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: 666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    vegas pro 12 is 64bit only. if you install lagarith it installs both 32 and 64 bit codecs so you should at least get that. for ease of learning, multicam editing, decent transitions and effects it's hard to beat vegas.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Location: Budapest
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by aedipuss View Post
    vegas pro 12 is 64bit only. if you install lagarith it installs both 32 and 64 bit codecs so you should at least get that. for ease of learning, multicam editing, decent transitions and effects it's hard to beat vegas.
    I like avid media composer. It is the best!
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2001
    Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    Then why go through the trouble of asking all this about Vegas?

    BTW, you will likely have similar 32bit vs. 64bit issues with ANY NLE, including MC.

    Scott
    "When will the rhetorical questions end?!" - George Carlin
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads