VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    I'm looking to achieve the most professional cinema-like look possible with the equipment I have or with minimal upgrades. I know my equipment is consumer grade, but I want to get the best results possible for now. I'm very new to this and would like to learn from those with experience.
    Here's what I have:
    Canon Vixia HF200
    Sony Movie Studio 9 Platinum (probably will upgrade to the Sony Movie Studio 12 Platinum Suite to take advantage of the 64 bit version. Good idea?)

My computer has:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
    16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
    GT 440 DDR3 1GB
    or
    GT 240 DDR5 512 MB (which is better for this?)

I've done some research, and this is what I know:
    Record everything @ the highest quality possible - MXP (which is 1920 x 1080 resolution @ 24Mbps bitrate)
    Avoid pan & zoom at all costs.
    I know a little about setting the aperture to get a shallow depth of field and using manual focus.

So my questions relating to filming are:
    Should I record @ 60i, 30p or 24p? (not sure if these are true frame rates or not, but my understanding is that they are all in a 60i container)
    Should I manual white balance? If so, what is the best way? (the camera has auto, and several presets for types of lighting)
    Should I use the camera presets for shutter speed/exposure? or learn what's needed and adjust manually?

For editing:
    Files are AVCHD (.MTS) and seem to edit fine in movie studio.
    Color correcting? Color balancing? How?
    De-interlace?
    Render @ a constant bitrate at or above the recorded rate (24Mbps)?
    Render @ what frame rate?
    Anything else I should do?

Thanks, I appreciate the input from those with expertise.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Whew! I think you're asking for the contents of several manuals . I can answer some of that, certainly not all of it.

Originally Posted by bweath View Post