VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Guys,

I'm trying to understand how to author a blu-ray 3D. I'm a CGI artist and I use Maya to create a set (sequence) of Left & Right high quality 1080p images (TIFF).

I'm not sure what software package needs to be used; but I need to basically use the Left Eye & Right Eye image sequences and author a Blu-ray 3D.

The images were created using the Stereoscopic Camera Rig available in Autodesk Maya. I have a simple 1 minute animation; rendered as a sequence of TIFF images for each eye seperately.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.
    I don't suffer from Chronic Insanity & Psychosomatic Multiple Personality Disorder!
    I enjoy every moment of it!
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Blu-ray 3D specification calls for encoding 3D video using the "Stereo High" profile defined by Multiview Video Coding (MVC)

you'd need something like cinema craft mvc encoder
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by aedipuss View Post
    Blu-ray 3D specification calls for encoding 3D video using the "Stereo High" profile defined by Multiview Video Coding (MVC)

you'd need something like cinema craft mvc encoder
    That's definitely a good start; reading up on the Cinema Craft MVC Encoder - it looks like that's exactly what would be required. The other question that I come to would be - what kind of an Authoring Software would be required that would be able to handle these MVC encoded files? I know industry standards like Blu-print or DoStudio handle the job for large business-scale operations; but are there smaller scale packages for smaller businesses?

Thanks!
    I don't suffer from Chronic Insanity & Psychosomatic Multiple Personality Disorder!
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    about the only other authoring tool for blu-ray 3d i can think of is scenarist.
    --
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by aedipuss View Post