VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi everyone.

I own 2 WDTV players (a 1st gen one, and a WTDV Live Plus). I have a large amount of data (crucially, greater than 4 TB). I'd like to connect all my data simultaneously to one of my players, but each has only 2 USB ports, and neither recognize drives over 2 TB. I'd prefer to avoid using a network, and just connect drives locally.

The couple of multi-port USB "splitters" I've used haven't been recognized by either system.

I was wondering - is there a way to do this with these devices? I'm not averse to acquiring another device - is there a similar one with more than 2 USB ports or that can recognize 3 TB drives?

Thanks very much for your help!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Why not use a NAS to serve the media to your player? Something like this:
    http://www.synology.com/products/product.php?product_name=DS212j&lang=uk

I've been using one for a couple of years and love it.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for the quick response! If at all possible, I'd like to avoid setting up a network. I have to admit, I've looked into NAS before and it looks great, but I'm putting a premium on simplicity here, if it is possible. If the USB connections aren't possible, obviously I'll have to try something else, but I'm hoping I can get them to work out.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Micca ep350

go to avsforum and you'll see in the ep350 thread that this model handles internal and external storage quite well...with very few hiccups
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for the reference, Micca EP350 looks great. I see that you can put a big internal drive in it, which is awesome. Do you happen to know if it can read external drives greater than 2 TB via its USB connections?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Search Comp PM