VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    I am not that technically minded and since I can ill afford to make a mistake I thought it better to ask.

I think my analogue LCD monitor is dying. There are two white(or light blue) horizontal lines running across the top of the screen within the blue information bar (if that is the correct term). Yesterday, and for the last month or so, there was just one. Their position is not obstrusive but I do wonder if there are about to head south down the rest of the screen.

So, I need to get myself ready for that time and plan for a replacement.

My graphics card is an ATI Radeon HD4670 so I think it is time to go down the HD route.

My simple question is whether I can obtain a full HD tv and use this as my new monitor or whether I would be better served by getting a bespoke HD monitor.

Usage is for general PC work, video capture and editing and DVD/Blu-ray playback.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    You don't need an actual hdtv if you don't plan on watching tv. You would need a tv with a tuner to watch it independently without the computer being on if it had a tv tuner card.

Originally Posted by db83
    DVD/Blu-ray playback
    Your main consideration will be to ensure it has hdcp so you can do bluray. It will HAVE To have hdmi input for bluray.

Whether or not you do 720p or 1080p depends on how large you go. A relatively small screen should be ok with just 720p. If the price increase isn't too much you might as well go with 1080p as long as it is within your budget.

Originally Posted by db83
    ATI Radeon HD4670
    Probably a dumb question here if you ALREADY do bluray playback but does this card have hdcp on it? If it does than all you have to have is a hd monitor with hdcp on it to do bluray playback.

Unless you rip your blurays. But that would take up a LOT of space if you ripped without converting.