VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. ok, i'm new at all of this, and i've spent the last 3 hours working between two video files.
    here is what i've done so far : there is a movie which i am trying to patch the audio for. I have a japanese 720p video file and an english 480p one. using tools found in other posts i have converted them both to mkv, and even muxed(?) the audio from the 480p into the 720p
    my problem is this : turns out the frame rates are different so it isn't synced at all. i need to lower the audio one from 29.970628 to 23.974491. any advice?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Originally Posted by eponarider1 View Post
    i need to lower the audio one from 29.970628 to 23.974491.
    No you don't. Do you really think you have to lengthen the audio by a full 20%, thus making the audio play that much more slowly? Check the relative lengths of the two versions. For a movie, the interlaced or progressive 29.97fps output is the same length as is the progressive 23.976fps source. Movies aren't 29.97fps.

If you're lucky, you only have to set a delay (change where the audio starts). If you're unlucky the 2 versions of the same movie have some scenes different from each other and your synching job becomes exponentially harder.
    Quote Quote  
  3. well... the 29. one is 2:18, and the 23. is 2:43... so maybe it does play slower? i might just keep searching for an english version. the audio delay was the first thing i played with, i made sure to sync a book hitting the floor at 37:50, and all the convos were in sync after that. then at about 50 minutes the words were appearing before the mouths moved, and by 1:40 it was completely off... that's why i compared the frame rates of the two in the first place.
    Quote Quote