VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hey everyone, sorry if i posted in the wrong part of the forum. I am trying to replicate the effect used in the video below from 52 seconds onwards. Quite confused about how to create this effect. I am new to video editing so if anyone knows how to create such an effect, I would love to know how to create it!

Thanks in advance

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rygMkrNdSUg
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Which effect?

The blinking is a series of fast cuts/dissolves to black + dissolves of various overlays (the girl).

It all could be be done in Vegas Pro including the velocity profiles.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  3. yeah the strobe like effect is what I am aiming to achieve....I am editing my film in final cut, would this be easy to do with that program?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by edinzec View Post
    I am editing my film in final cut?
    You should probably post you question in the Mac Forum, you may get a faster reply from the mac users.
    Murphy's law taught me everything I know.
    Quote Quote  
  5. In FCP (or any editor) you would adjust the opacity keyframes

It's done with 2 tracks, the blinking is just changing opacity keyframes on the top layer. When the opacity is 0 , the bottom track shows through. The sequence is 2 top , 2 bottom, 2 top, 2 bottom, etc.... The levels of the tracks are adjusted so one is bright (or "normal") brightness, the alternate track is darker

Later on, there is a color inversion effect of the "normal" track, so it looks sort of a "photo negative", but the keyframe sequence is the same technique. It also speeds up, 1 top, 1 bottom etc.....

If you are new to FCP, just look on youtube for some basic tutorials on "keyframing" or "opacity keyframes"
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM