VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hi All,
    sorry if i'm posting in wrong place,
    i'm completly newbie here and quite in hurry to find a way "to add subbtitles to video file with extension .mov"

bellow info about video parameters
    - video lenght 00:03:28.12 format AppleProRes 422 (LT)
    - sound lenght 00:03:28.08

i've already made my subtitles in .txt format (if neccessery i'll made them once again in right format)

but can't find how to Hardsubbing in video

the final video must be HQ.

Is there any way with "free tools " to do ?

Any help highly welcome

PS. i've tried "search" in this forum, but actualy did not found topic, but it's possible that i did not checked well
    Quote Quote  
  2. Do you have access to a pc ?

If so , you can use avisynth with textsub() to frameserve into ffmpeg (ffmpeg can encode prores HQ now , or if you didn't mean "HQ" as in prores HQ profile, then you can use another compression scheme )

Supposedly you can hardsub with -vf sub or libass directly in ffmpeg, but I've never got it to work properly
    Quote Quote  
  3. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Whether you're on a Mac or PC, the .MOV container file format allows at least 2 types of subs to be added:
    1. Muxed into the V+A streams, or "tracks" in QT parlance, can also be other types of tracks. For subs, they particularly use a "Timed Text" track, which can be imported in with pre-existing timecodes. There are a number of sites on the web that explain all the different featrues of ttxt tracks (and there are a number of them, including Chapter Marks, HTML links, etc).

2. If you create a SMIL formatted sub and name it the same as the movie (except with a .smi extension) and put it into the same folder, it should open up and play along. If for some reason that doesn't work, you should be able to make a 3rd file, a .QTL metafile, that links them together.