VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
Thread
  1. Hello guys, I'm trying to open .webm files in VirtualDub, so I can convert them to AVI manually.
    I've already downloaded DirectShow codecs for WebM from Google's website, but it doesn't work.

    It only shows the window, and then, VirtualDub freezes. There's a screenshot in the attachment.
    What should I do?
    Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	VirtualDub froze.JPG
Views:	313
Size:	37.0 KB
ID:	11947  

    Quote Quote  
  2. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    Matroska plugin by fccHandler:

    http://fcchandler.home.comcast.net/~fcchandler/Plugins/Matroska/index.html

    Besides, make sure ffdshow's VfW interface is set to decode VP8

    However, there is NO functional/acceptable ACM decoder for Vorbis.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    Matroska plugin by fccHandler:

    http://fcchandler.home.comcast.net/~fcchandler/Plugins/Matroska/index.html

    Besides, make sure ffdshow's VfW interface is set to decode VP8

    However, there is NO functional/acceptable ACM decoder for Vorbis.
    Still freezing...
    Quote Quote  
  4. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    Hmmm, I didn't know the Matroska plugin (still?) doesn't support VP8 video

    Anyway, the WebM samples I have do not freeze VirtualDub 1.9.11,
    they just make it say "NO VIDEO"

    For the time being, you'd better try the DirectShow input plugin, OR
    frameserve VirtualDub with an Avisynth script
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    Hmmm, I didn't know the Matroska plugin (still?) doesn't support VP8 video

    Anyway, the WebM samples I have do not freeze VirtualDub 1.9.11,
    they just make it say "NO VIDEO"

    For the time being, you'd better try the DirectShow input plugin, OR
    frameserve VirtualDub with an Avisynth script
    OK, I just downloaded the plugins again and now it says "NO VIDEO".
    Anyway, I tried with DS input Plugin and it freezes.

    I just checked the file with media info and it says the file has 1000fps O_O
    Does that have to do with anything?
    Quote Quote  
  6. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    I just checked the file with media info and it says the file has 1000fps O_O
    Does that have to do with anything?
    Possibly WebM is a format as pesky as FLV , I mean, both use variable framerate plus weird timestamps, which normally translates as "1000 fps"

    However it's more probable that the Google DS filters are the actual source of the freezing problem, since they were created by Linux trolls Just uninstall them, and let the LAV Filters do their job.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    I just checked the file with media info and it says the file has 1000fps O_O
    Does that have to do with anything?
    Possibly WebM is a format as pesky as FLV , I mean, both use variable framerate plus weird timestamps, which normally translates as "1000 fps"

    However it's more probable that the Google DS filters are the actual source of the freezing problem, since they were created by Linux trolls Just uninstall them, and let the LAV Filters do their job.
    IT WORK'D!!!!
    Thanks so much.

    Google's a piece of shit. The most powerful website on the web can't even have a functional codec?
    Quote Quote  
  8. Originally Posted by alinhoalisson View Post
    Google's a piece of shit. The most powerful website on the web can't even have a functional codec?
    VFW is ancient, outdated, and deprecated by Microsoft.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Lone soldier Cauptain's Avatar
    Join Date: Jan 2006
    Location: Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Strange, because my virtualdub 1.10.1 open Webm default using FFDSHOW.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	AMdvo.jpg
Views:	358
Size:	223.3 KB
ID:	11952


    Claudio
    Quote Quote  
  10. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by alinhoalisson View Post
    ...
    IT WORK'D!!!!
    Thanks so much.
    ...
    You're welcome

    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Originally Posted by alinhoalisson View Post
    Google's a piece of shit. The most powerful website on the web can't even have a functional codec?
    VFW is ancient, outdated, and deprecated by Microsoft.
    Is that an excuse for a lousy source-code?
    I mean, if LAV Filters have functioned correctly with the DS-Input vdplugin, this implies both Google's WebM codec and ffdshow are broken.
    Last edited by El Heggunte; 15th Apr 2012 at 08:55.
    Quote Quote  
  11. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Cauptain View Post
    Strange, because my virtualdub 1.10.1 open Webm default using FFDSHOW.

    <SNIPP>

    Claudio
    Please stop posting fugly pics
    Quote Quote  
  12. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    [ d e l e t e d ]
    Last edited by El Heggunte; 17th Apr 2012 at 01:15.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    I mean, if LAV Filters have functioned correctly with the DS-Input vdplugin, this implies both Google's WebM codec and ffdshow are broken.
    No, it doesn't imply anything about the quality of VP8. Google doesn't make a VFW VP8 decoder. You're using third party tools to access a VP8 decoder in VirtualDub.
    Quote Quote  
  14. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    I mean, if LAV Filters have functioned correctly with the DS-Input vdplugin, this implies both Google's WebM codec and ffdshow are broken.
    No, it doesn't imply anything about the quality of VP8. Google doesn't make a VFW VP8 decoder. You're using third party tools to access a VP8 decoder in VirtualDub.
    Well, "someone" does have made a VfW VP8 codec ( <-- clicky ).
    But that's NOT the point.
    Since DirectShow IS capable of interacting with the VfW engine whenever necessary, then the fault actually is:

    --- of ffdshow and Google's VP8 codec ; OR...

    --- of the DirectShow Input Driver ; OR...

    --- of BOTH.
    Last edited by El Heggunte; 17th Apr 2012 at 16:48.
    Quote Quote  
  15. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    UPDATE

    It seems "the root of all evil" ( besides the pseudo-scientist Richard Dawkins of course ) is the media splitter picked by the DirectShow engine. LAV Splitter and MPC's Matroska Splitter do work as they should, even when used with ffdshow --- whereas AV Splitter (and quite probably the WebM source/splitter from Google as well) "freeze" VirtualDub.
    Last edited by El Heggunte; 17th Apr 2012 at 16:57. Reason: there is a bug with the smileys :-/
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads