VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 26 of 26
Thread
  1. Hello guys, I'm trying to open .webm files in VirtualDub, so I can convert them to AVI manually.
    I've already downloaded DirectShow codecs for WebM from Google's website, but it doesn't work.

    It only shows the window, and then, VirtualDub freezes. There's a screenshot in the attachment.
    What should I do?
    Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	VirtualDub froze.JPG
Views:	389
Size:	37.0 KB
ID:	11947  

    Quote Quote  
  2. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    Matroska plugin by fccHandler:

    http://fcchandler.home.comcast.net/~fcchandler/Plugins/Matroska/index.html

    Besides, make sure ffdshow's VfW interface is set to decode VP8

    However, there is NO functional/acceptable ACM decoder for Vorbis.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    Matroska plugin by fccHandler:

    http://fcchandler.home.comcast.net/~fcchandler/Plugins/Matroska/index.html

    Besides, make sure ffdshow's VfW interface is set to decode VP8

    However, there is NO functional/acceptable ACM decoder for Vorbis.
    Still freezing...
    Quote Quote  
  4. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    Hmmm, I didn't know the Matroska plugin (still?) doesn't support VP8 video

    Anyway, the WebM samples I have do not freeze VirtualDub 1.9.11,
    they just make it say "NO VIDEO"

    For the time being, you'd better try the DirectShow input plugin, OR
    frameserve VirtualDub with an Avisynth script
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    Hmmm, I didn't know the Matroska plugin (still?) doesn't support VP8 video

    Anyway, the WebM samples I have do not freeze VirtualDub 1.9.11,
    they just make it say "NO VIDEO"

    For the time being, you'd better try the DirectShow input plugin, OR
    frameserve VirtualDub with an Avisynth script
    OK, I just downloaded the plugins again and now it says "NO VIDEO".
    Anyway, I tried with DS input Plugin and it freezes.

    I just checked the file with media info and it says the file has 1000fps O_O
    Does that have to do with anything?
    Quote Quote  
  6. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    I just checked the file with media info and it says the file has 1000fps O_O
    Does that have to do with anything?
    Possibly WebM is a format as pesky as FLV , I mean, both use variable framerate plus weird timestamps, which normally translates as "1000 fps"

    However it's more probable that the Google DS filters are the actual source of the freezing problem, since they were created by Linux trolls Just uninstall them, and let the LAV Filters do their job.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    I just checked the file with media info and it says the file has 1000fps O_O
    Does that have to do with anything?
    Possibly WebM is a format as pesky as FLV , I mean, both use variable framerate plus weird timestamps, which normally translates as "1000 fps"

    However it's more probable that the Google DS filters are the actual source of the freezing problem, since they were created by Linux trolls Just uninstall them, and let the LAV Filters do their job.
    IT WORK'D!!!!
    Thanks so much.

    Google's a piece of shit. The most powerful website on the web can't even have a functional codec?
    Quote Quote  
  8. Originally Posted by alinhoalisson View Post
    Google's a piece of shit. The most powerful website on the web can't even have a functional codec?
    VFW is ancient, outdated, and deprecated by Microsoft.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Lone soldier Cauptain's Avatar
    Join Date: Jan 2006
    Location: Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Strange, because my virtualdub 1.10.1 open Webm default using FFDSHOW.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	AMdvo.jpg
Views:	479
Size:	223.3 KB
ID:	11952


    Claudio
    Quote Quote  
  10. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by alinhoalisson View Post
    ...
    IT WORK'D!!!!
    Thanks so much.
    ...
    You're welcome

    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Originally Posted by alinhoalisson View Post
    Google's a piece of shit. The most powerful website on the web can't even have a functional codec?
    VFW is ancient, outdated, and deprecated by Microsoft.
    Is that an excuse for a lousy source-code?
    I mean, if LAV Filters have functioned correctly with the DS-Input vdplugin, this implies both Google's WebM codec and ffdshow are broken.
    Last edited by El Heggunte; 15th Apr 2012 at 09:55.
    Quote Quote  
  11. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Cauptain View Post
    Strange, because my virtualdub 1.10.1 open Webm default using FFDSHOW.

    <SNIPP>

    Claudio
    Please stop posting fugly pics
    Quote Quote  
  12. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    [ d e l e t e d ]
    Last edited by El Heggunte; 17th Apr 2012 at 02:15.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    I mean, if LAV Filters have functioned correctly with the DS-Input vdplugin, this implies both Google's WebM codec and ffdshow are broken.
    No, it doesn't imply anything about the quality of VP8. Google doesn't make a VFW VP8 decoder. You're using third party tools to access a VP8 decoder in VirtualDub.
    Quote Quote  
  14. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    I mean, if LAV Filters have functioned correctly with the DS-Input vdplugin, this implies both Google's WebM codec and ffdshow are broken.
    No, it doesn't imply anything about the quality of VP8. Google doesn't make a VFW VP8 decoder. You're using third party tools to access a VP8 decoder in VirtualDub.
    Well, "someone" does have made a VfW VP8 codec ( <-- clicky ).
    But that's NOT the point.
    Since DirectShow IS capable of interacting with the VfW engine whenever necessary, then the fault actually is:

    --- of ffdshow and Google's VP8 codec ; OR...

    --- of the DirectShow Input Driver ; OR...

    --- of BOTH.
    Last edited by El Heggunte; 17th Apr 2012 at 17:48.
    Quote Quote  
  15. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    UPDATE

    It seems "the root of all evil" ( besides the pseudo-scientist Richard Dawkins of course ) is the media splitter picked by the DirectShow engine. LAV Splitter and MPC's Matroska Splitter do work as they should, even when used with ffdshow --- whereas AV Splitter (and quite probably the WebM source/splitter from Google as well) "freeze" VirtualDub.
    Last edited by El Heggunte; 17th Apr 2012 at 17:57. Reason: there is a bug with the smileys :-/
    Quote Quote  
  16. Searching for knowledge. trodas's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: Czech Republic
    Search Comp PM
    That make me wonder...

    ...could be the webm convereted to some other container w/o reencoding, like mkv...?
    "It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
    ...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
    Quote Quote  
  17. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    @trodas:

    in the MKVmerge GUI Window, in the Global tab, untick the checkbox "Create WebM compliant file".

    As for other containers...

    MP4 supports Vorbis (un-officially), but does not support VP8;
    AVI supports VP8, but does not support Vorbis;

    MOV =>

    ASF --- in theory, yes, BUT...... well, better forget it;

    MPG and TS --- no way, period.
    Last edited by El Heggunte; 5th Jun 2014 at 18:08.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2001
    Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    @trodas, WebM = MKV! It's just renamed extension (actually, it is a specific profile of MKV, using specific codecs).

    @El Heggunte, acc'd to developer Alex No (maker of AVIMux-Gui), AVI DOES support Vorbis. QT on Mac supports Vorbis via XiphQT (though probably nothing for QT Windows). Same thing with VP8 (Google WebM QT Mac component).

    Scott
    "When will the rhetorical questions end?!" - George Carlin
    Quote Quote  
  19. Searching for knowledge. trodas's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: Czech Republic
    Search Comp PM
    Good call. So I tried and the result was "Can't open file" message...
    MKV files I play w/o a glitch. In FFD show the VP8 is configured as libavcodec to decode it. So in teory, it should work, but... it does not.

    When I tried to open the file into VirtualDub, it just tell me, that it have no videostream Suxxx.
    (resulted file is there: http://dfiles.eu/files/qlgjpvnax - https://www.oboom.com/7GGEVXJW - http://www.sendspace.com/file/a8j61x - http://rapidgator.net/file/fb60864c55bfcd27dc294684df5ed3b3/Lechtani_chodidel_paradne_...lecny.mkv.html )


    Tried several other webm files with same results. The output files are not playable/cannot be even opened in VD...! So that does not help at all. What I do wrong? Tried the simple rename webm to mkv and same result. Not playable, not possible to open in VD at all. Bad.
    "It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
    ...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2001
    Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    Notice, in post #10 El Heggunte refers to the fact that VP8 decoding in ffdshow is BROKEN!

    Read the rest of this thread and follow what the OP did.

    Scott
    "When will the rhetorical questions end?!" - George Carlin
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member racer-x's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2003
    Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
    Search Comp PM
    You can also open .webm files in Virtualdub via the FFMPEG import plugin.
    Attached Images  
    The memories of a man in his old age, are the deeds of the man in his prime.......
    Quote Quote  
  22. vanished El Heggunte's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Misplaced Childhood
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Cornucopia View Post
    .......

    @El Heggunte, acc'd to developer Alex No (maker of AVIMux-Gui), AVI DOES support Vorbis.
    Yes, BUT storing Vorbis in AVI correctly IS NOT very-practical, because of the

    HUGE container overhead, caused by the null audio frames.

    Another no-no for the AVI container is Windows Media Audio. AFAIK, nobody has created an AVI muxer that inserts silence for properly translating the frequent "gaps" in the audio timestamps of the ASF container.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Originally Posted by racer-x View Post
    You can also open .webm files in Virtualdub via the FFMPEG import plugin.
    Thanks for the info, that means AviUtl should be able to handle WebM also:

    Click image for larger version

Name:	Aviutl_webm.png
Views:	36
Size:	168.8 KB
ID:	25563

    Actually it is the Libav that handles the import (ffmpeg incorporate Libav sources anyway)

    However, seeking is somewhat slow and jerky
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member racer-x's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2003
    Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
    Search Comp PM
    If you rename the extension from .webm to .mkv, Aviutl will open it just fine. Scrolling and seeking works fine then. Another option is AviDemux......

    No Idea why anyone would want to edit that vp8 crap, unless there was no choice.
    The memories of a man in his old age, are the deeds of the man in his prime.......
    Quote Quote  
  25. Searching for knowledge. trodas's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: Czech Republic
    Search Comp PM
    That is why - no choice. No other source material, need VP8 "crap" to get into VirtualDub. So so so sad that FFDshow support is broken
    "It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
    ...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
    Quote Quote  
  26. Searching for knowledge. trodas's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: Czech Republic
    Search Comp PM
    There is a attempt to support plugin based on MKV is made:
    http://forums.virtualdub.org/index.php?act=ST&f=7&t=20294
    Matroska TestVersion VPCodecs.zip

    But it just show the dredful "MISSING CODEC" message instead of anything usable.
    "It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
    ...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads