VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I am a total newbie please bear with me.
    I am looking for a program that will rip a DVD & remove both commercials and adds, so I can burn it back to a DVD. I did a Google search & read until I have a headache & succeeded to become more confused…. I don’t have a problem buying a program if that is the best route. From what I read I may need two programs to complete this task.
    Can someone help me please? I feel like I was put in Lamb Chop under ware & thrown in the woods.
    Thank you in advance, I sincerely appreciate your help and advice.
    Lexus
    Quote Quote  
  2. You need a decrypter to remove the encryption and "rip" (copy) to hard drive. Then an encoder to fit the rip onto a single-layer DVD(+/-)R blank. Commercial DVD Video is typically on a pressed double-layer DVD-ROM. Although you could simply rip the original and burn to DVD+R_DL (double-layer blank). But they're more costly. Lastly, you need a burning program that can handle DVD-Video correctly. ImgBurn is the one you want.

DVDFab is a good decrypter and once the trial expires you can still use the free version, DVDFabDecrypter to rip to hard drive. The free version is not updated as soon as the pay version, so you may not be able to immediately deal with newer DVDs having new copy protection schemes. I wouldn't use Fab to compress to single-layer disc though, although you could.

For fitting to single-layer blank,, you can use the tried and true transcoder DVDShrink or re-encode with DVDRebuilder (the latter produces better quality, but is slower).

All the above are free, unless you opt to pay for a decrypter.

Since you're totally new to this, probably best if you do a trial run or two with DVDShrink on an old DVD (Shrink can also decrypt, but hasn't been updated in years.) You can do a full disc backup or movie-only. Follow this very simple guide:

http://www.mrbass.org/dvdshrink/

Good luck and welcome to the forum.
    Pull! Bang! Darn!