VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi i'm new, this look liked a really good forum so i decided to sign up and give it a shot? Yahoo is total garbage and i'm a technical guy, but when it comes to this. I'm new to it. I know EVERYTHING there is to know about computers but one day i decided to do something and i had now idea how to do it, here it is:

I want to connect my PS3 to my monitor but after i plugged everything in, i switch from analog, to digital on my menu. It gives me a black screen for 3 seconds and then goes back to analog view. I plugged everything in! I already had a WORKING HDMI cable so i decided to just buy a dvi to hdmi adapter. I plugged one end of the HDMI cable into the ps3, the other end into the hdmi part of the dvi to hdmi adapter. and then the dvi part, into my monitor. After i did everything with brand new items. I go to my menu, go to input select, select digital. Gives me a black screen for 3 seconds. I spent 40 dollars on these god damn cables and it's not working! Can someone please help me..
    My monitor is the HP w19b, Pretty old monitor but it has a dvi port so it should be working, BUT IT'S NOT!
    Quote Quote  
  2. It looks like your monitor doesn't support TV refresh rates. Ie, 1920x1080i or 1280x702p.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    if the ps3 is set to send video out hdmi and the monitor does not show a picture it is most likely because the monitor it too old and not hdcp compliant. you'll need a new monitor to get it to work.

[edit] oops should have checked the specs like jag. it only does 1440 x 900 resolution.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  4. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    If your ps3 is set to 1920x180 and your monitor cant handle it then try and set it to 1280x720 through your tv then try again.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote