VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I'm transferring 12 home-made, 20 year-old, decent shape, VHS-C tapes recorded at SP speed. I want the best archive possible.

I've been doing a lot research in this site and I gather that it's generally recommended to capture in AVI (losless or DV AVI) so that one can filter the video before encoding to MPEG and then burn the DVD. This is based on the assumption that one would have to filter the video to make it look better and filter noise as opposed to capturing directly in MPEG which would result in a worse looking video and losing much more data.

Now, I'm new to all this and when I compare the playback of the original tape and the DVD copy of that tape on my 40" LCD TV I don't notice a difference.

The tape was dubbed to DVD on a new VCR/DVD recorder combo (Toshiba D-VR7) at XP (highest quality availble). This machine encodes in MPEG (according to the manual).

So I play the original tape, press stop, then press play on the DVD player side, see the same video dubbed and can't tell a difference.

Is it just me? I would like to know if anyone would be kind enough to post a comparisson video (even a few seconds) or still captures to show me what difference AVI+filtering vs. straight-to-MPEG really makes on VHS. I would like to know if it's worth getting the extra gear and all the hassles. Maybe I don't have a trained eye or my large TV is crap so I can't really tell.

People talk a lot about the difference it makes, and I'm sure that if you're a pro then it obviously does, I've seen a nice video comparisson lordsmurf did with a beat-up tape, but I never got to see how much it would improve on a tape in fairly decent shape.

Thanks
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Key issue is you capped at max bitrate* (aka one hour mode). That can be enough. All good.

Beyond that you can do TBC + higher bit rate on a capture card.