VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi all, newbie here.

I will be capturing a few VHS tapes that were recorded in Argentina. According to Wikipedia Argentina has PAL-N system.
    I now live in Canada and I want to transfer the tapes to DVD with a Toshiba D-VR7 (VCR/DVD recorder combo, does not play PAL tapes) so I guess I'm stuck with buying a converting VCR that can output NTSC.

Now, assuming that I can transfer the tapes that way, I have 2 main questions:

1) Will a PAL-N tape be read with acceptable quality by a PAL VCR? Is there a visually discernible difference?

2) The converting VCR that I have an eye on (Aiwa HV-MX1U) doesn't seem to have S-video connections. Will this make much of a difference in video quality? And any thoughts on that machine or suggestions for other options.

Thanks
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    How many tapes are you converting?

It may be cheaper to use a service. The equipment required is expensive.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    I'm no expert, but Wikipedia claims that any PAL VCR that supports the European PAL formats will also support PAL-N fully.

We've got some members here who can speak directly to your technical questions. Hopefully they will chime in.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by edDV View Post
    It may be cheaper to use a service. The equipment required is expensive.
    It's only like 6 tapes. But I can get the converting VCR for cheap and after using it selling it for $100 or more on ebay. Can you please specify why would I need extra equipment besides the converting VCR? And what kind of equipment?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jman98 View Post
    I'm no expert, but Wikipedia claims that any PAL VCR that supports the European PAL formats will also support PAL-N fully.