VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Another newbie here with what is probably a dumb question for the experts.
    I have visited this forum may times looking for information on the best way to transfer home video from VHS tape to DVD or to PC then DVD. I settled on buying a VHS-DVD Combo. It looks as if combos are going the of the dinosaurs, very hard to find any good used ones and most all of the new ones have very poor reviews from the users

Anyway back to the question, the unit I purchased is a Toshiba DVR620 mainly because of the 1080 up and HDMI out. My thoughts were if I am going to spend the time to transfer hours of VHS tape I want the best looking video I can get and with 1080 out I could then connect to the HDMI in of my Hauppauge Colossus for further editing and burn to Blue ray disc until a little thing called HDCP put a stop to my video signal.
    Will I have this problem with all DVD players that have HDMI 1080 out or just
    this player ? I can play back the recorded DVD on the Toshiba DVR and record to the Colossus using component video jacks but now I have lost the 1080 upscaling.
    From what I have learned about HDCP it is use to stop copyrighted material from being re-recorded, so why is my personal DVD blocked ?

FYI on the Toshiba DVR620, it does a very nice job of dubbing from VHS to DVD, easy to use and the DVDs played back on my Sony NSZ GT1 to 42 Samsung never looked this good.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Most players will only activate HDCP if the disc has copy protection and then only for upscaled output.

I suggest you are not getting highest quality by recording the upscaled output to Colosus. Instead rip the DVD and edit at 720x480 resolution for example in Video Redo (lossless editing). Play that file in an upscaling player to the TV. This way you get no re-encode loss.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Search Comp PM