VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi all
    I am new to this game, with much to learn, so I would be grateful is any responses to my queries are made in very simple terms J

I have been building a frame-by-frame capture telecine machine on and off for a couple of years and now have it working to my satisfaction. I have been aware of the Avisynth and the highly regarded scripts that various talented individuals have made available for download and have always planned to be using one of this to both clean up my footage and do frame rate conversion.

Here’s what I do:
    • Capture my individual frames.
    • Batch process them in Photoshop, colour adjust, rotate, contrast, noise and trim to 720 x 576
    • Import into Sony Vegas to output as an avi at 16.667 fps - not educated myself well yet with an understanding of the various containers and codecs, but the file I create is Uncompressed and Progressive scan.
    • I am then using a frame blending script by Freddie Van de Putee (forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=144271), of which there are some fine examples of what it can achieve on the net, within Virtualdubmod.
    And herein lies my problem: the filters within this script all seem to be doing their stuff, with the exception of the one that I was really looking forward to seeing good results from, namely the RemoveDirt filter, which is invoked by RemoveDirtMC.avs This seems to have no effect at all.