VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2012
    Location: Liverpool, UK
    Search PM
    Hi all,
    I have a Sagem Recorder with a USB export facility, a 1080P TV and a Toshiba DVD/DivX Player.
    On exporting .ts files to my pc, Media player displays 1024 x 576 pixels.
    Using TS Sniper - initial frames are reported as 704 x 576?..
    Using HDTV2DVD to convert to DVD, the TS has converted to Mpeg of 852 x 480 and created the VOB files.
    On playback, quality appears a little "fuzzy" after upscaling on the TV.

    I appear to have a reduction in resolution, compared with the playback from the sagem box.
    I don't know how to playback the VOB files directly from the PC to see what the screen resolution is.

    I must assume the Sagem box is sending the data to the TV at 1024 x 576
    and the Toshiba player is sending the DVD data to the TV at a lower resolution.

    Question 1.
    Can I increase the VOB resolution to 1024 x 576?

    Question 2.
    As I have a DivX compatible DVD player,
    Can I use the DivX converter to produce a file with this resolution,
    burn it to DVD
    and will the player send this resolution to the TV?

    TIA from a Newbie!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Originally Posted by Paul Hetherington View Post
    Using HDTV2DVD to convert to DVD, the TS has converted to Mpeg of 852 x 480 and created the VOB files.
    I doubt it as 852x480 isn't an allowable DVD resolution. Maybe it gets resized to that during playback. Look to the top and left of this page and read 'What Is DVD?' MPEG, yes; DVD video, no.
    Question 1.
    Can I increase the VOB resolution to 1024 x 576?
    No.
    Question 2.
    As I have a DivX compatible DVD player,
    Can I use the DivX converter to produce a file with this resolution,
    burn it to DVD
    and will the player send this resolution to the TV?
    Probably not as most DVD/MPEG-4 players allow resolutions only up to 720x480/576. Read your player manual to confirm.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member Chef Goldblum's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2012
    Location: Planet Earth
    Search PM
    The original disc is anamorphic, so your software player is outputting to the proper 16:9 aspect. The actual frame size though can be no bigger than 720 x 576 for PAL, and the actual video here is 704x576.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2004
    Location: Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    See "What is DVD?" above left for all supported DVD resolutions.
    http://www.videohelp.com/dvd

    The DVD player horizontally scales wide 704x576 to 1024x576 over HDMI* to the TV. The TV then upscales 1024x576 to 1920x1080 for display.

    For "NTSC" the player horizontally scales wide 704x480 to ~852x480 over HDMI* to the TV. The TV then upscales 852x480 to 1920x1080 for display.


    * Alternately the player upscales directly to 1920x1080 depending on HDMI output setting.
    Last edited by edDV; 22nd Feb 2012 at 15:35.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2012
    Location: Liverpool, UK
    Search PM
    Thank you all.....

    I shall apply what I have learnt from you and reply after the weekend.

    Paul H
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2012
    Location: Liverpool, UK
    Search PM
    Hi all and sorry for the delay, family health problems and the XP machine died - replaced with a Win7 64B home edition.

    All your feedback has (hopefully) been absorbed (lol) and I can now produce dvd's from DVB TS files.

    Question is - viewing the original .ts files, I am viewing an interlace flicker? on the lowest line of the display.

    Is it possible to remove (crop) the lowest line to remove the flicker?

    Currently using dvbcut to cut and produce mpg and AVStoDVD to produce the DVD.

    Best Regards,

    Paul H
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2004
    Location: Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Could you post a short clip showing the flicker?

    The flicker happened after downsize?
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member yoda313's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2004
    Location: The Animus
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by paul
    I am viewing an interlace flicker? on the lowest line of the display.
    That could be overscan garbage. It might be that when viewed on the tv in "standard" mode that garbage won't be visible.

    At least some dvd authoring software has "tv safe areas" blocking grids to show what would be viewable on a final image. However I'm not sure if that is only for an authored menu or if you can overlay it for the actual video you'll be using.

    Just my two cents.
    Donatello - The Shredder? Michelangelo - Maybe all that hardware is for making coleslaw?
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2012
    Location: Liverpool, UK
    Search PM
    Thank you all - I'm an idiot.
    I didnt actually try this on my dvd player just on the pc with windows media player.

    There is no flicker on the tv.

    therefore no problem.

    Sorry for wasting your time!

    Paul H
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads