VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I am new to all this and hope someone can help me. My husband is deployed to Afghanistan and I want to be able to send him DVD's of our favorite shows but have no clue if that is possible and don't want to waste money buying a DVD recorder if it is not. thought about just buying them on iTunes but that won't work either bc can only put it on a device (which he will have over there) and he has little to no capability to download anything. Any help anyone could give me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    It SHOULD be possible, but as you are new to this kind of thing, I cannot promise you that you will be able to do this without help from others. Basically the idea is that you send the video output of your DVR to a DVD recorder's video input. Make sure you finalize the DVDs that you record as without finalizing them, he probably won't be able to play them.

Note that few DVD recorders are available in the USA and Canada now. Magnavox is about the only maker left. I recommend that you mail order Taiyo Yuden or Verbatim DVDs from rima.com or supermediastore.com rather than buying blank DVDs in stores. Stores only get crap quality blank DVDs any more and playback problems are possible with lower quality media. If you're going to spend the money to buy a DVD recorder it would be foolish to then skimp and buy crap quality media, but lots of people do that. Note that anything Verbatim makes EXCEPT their "Life" series (NOT to be confused with their excellent DataLifePlus series) of discs is very good. Their Life series is the cheap crap discs they make for BestBuy and other stores because the US market demands cheap price, which means low quality. Taiyo Yuden only sells high quality blank media under their name.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM