VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. I bought some DVD's that were supposed to be region free but their Region 2 PAL DVD's
    go figure eh? -_- false advertisement.

Anyways, I encode anime and shows all the time for myself but I have never done PAL before. I want to be able to watch these on my TV, they cost over 100$. I have witnessed a person rip PAL DVD's and convert them to NTSC MKV files and they looked amazing. Sadly I cannot ask this person or I would.

How would I go about converting these Region 2 DVD's into NTSC DVD or NTSC video files for my PC so tha I can encode myself and burn my own DVD's?

I have already ripped the DVD's into VOB files but their PAL resolution. How would I make them 640x480 NTSC MKV?
    Last edited by killerteengohan; 7th Feb 2012 at 06:25.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    you can use Multiavchd or Avs2dvd..these aren't the simplest apps to use but when u learn them its an easy process

your simplest solution is to just buy a dvd player that can play these dvd's. Just grab a Philips 3560 or a Coby 288 for $45 and they'll play any dvd you throw at it.The Philips you'll need to "Region Free" the drive but thats easy. There are instruction in here on how to do it. The Coby also has "Region Free" instructions in here also.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by killerteengohan View Post
    I bought some DVD's that were supposed to be region free but their Region 2 PAL DVD's
    Half-false advertisement actually. Even if they were "region free" they still would not have played on your NTSC equipment. A region free PAL DVD still won't play on most American equipment.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by hech54 View Post
    I bought some DVD's that were supposed to be region free but their Region 2 PAL DVD's