VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi all,

So for the past year I've been transcoding the raw files from my 550D into Apple Photo JPEG .mov using MPEG Streamclip. Most tutorials I've seen recommend Avid DNxHD but whenever I try to it, my output video stutters horribly or has no video feed. It just doesn't work for me.

I've been using Apple Photo JPEG for about a year now and I've had no problems with it apart from the increased file size.

I did a little tinkering and found the large file size was due to the high bit rate of the transcoded files. I've set the sliders to 100% to retain maximum quality, but for the sake of saving space I tried out 85%, which gave me an output file with around 43 Mbps bit rate, which is close to the 550D's raw file bit rate of about 45 Mbps. At a glance, I'm seeing no noticeable difference between the 85% and 100% quality transcodes.

So my questions are:

- Is it worth putting the slider all the way to 100%? I'm not an expert when it comes to the technicalities behind video files, but if the original bit rate of the raw file is only around 45 Mbps, does pumping it up to around 147 Mbps make sense?

- Are there any drawbacks I'm unaware of with using Apple Photo JPEG to transcode my footage?

Much thanks in advance Feel free to ask me anything for clarification.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    MotionJpeg is a low quality intermediate codec, if you must use it, you should only use 100 % quality.

I edit all my t2i .MOVs directly in Vegas pro 9 and never transcode. That would be the preferred method. But if you need to transcode, then I would look into using UTVideo suite or Cineform.
    Got my retirement plans all set. Looks like I only have to work another 5 years after I die........
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by racer-x View Post
    MotionJpeg is a low quality intermediate codec, if you must use it, you should only use 100 % quality.