VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I had been using the same PC for the last 6 years and was using old versions of DVDcrypter, DVDShrink and Nero... but that HD bit the dust and I am setting up this new Laptop to make future copies of my newly purchased DVDs for use in my car and on the road during business trips.

Made a copy of a couple of purchased CDs using ImgBurn, but it can't read the copy protected DVDs.

Just picked up Ides of March and want to make a copy from my pristine disc before I watch it.

What freeware programs are the current best to use?

Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search PM
    The most commonly used free program for decryption is DVDFab HD Decrypter. It is contained within the full version of DVDFab, but once the trial for the full version of DVDFab stops, the HD Decrypter section will continue to function. The only caveat is that the free section is not updated as quickly as the full commercial version. DVDFab does have compression abilities, but the free section does not. You could use DVDShrink to compress if you want.

There are a couple of other free options. One of those is MakeMKV. The problem with using it is that it will only copy the main movie, and will put it into an mkv file. No compression.

The other one is called BDLot DVD ISO Master. It will decrypt and output as an ISO file, so it isn't nearly as convenient as DVDFab, but you can open the ISO with DVDShrink and compress, or output to dvd-video file format with no compression if you prefer. You can also play the ISO file directly with VLC media player. If you are burning to disks, ImgBurn will burn the ISO file with no issues, though you might need compression to fit onto a single layer dvd as most commercial dvds are too large.
    Quote Quote  
  3. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    dvdfab decrypter. But it might not support all latest movies.
    Quote Quote