VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm just starting out with video editing. I got VirtualDub and used it to convert my videos from 4:3 to 16:9 for YouTube and that worked great. But they are shaky and I researched on how to use DeShaker with it. I apologize if this should be in the Restoration area of this forum but I really am new at all of this so I thought I would start here.

I read a lot before I tried my first video. After a lot of research, I followed the directions on this site under this Basic Guide: http://www.sundancemediagroup.com/articles/deshaker_guide.htm

What happens is that when it is completely done, everything looks like it worked but when I try to open the new file on my computer so that I can see what it looks like, it hesitates for at least one minute (I haven't timed it), then when it starts to play, it is just audio, no video. The screen is completely black.

I downloaded Huffyuv v2.1.1 video codec because I wanted a lossless codec and wanted to save the file as .avi (the original is .avi). I don't know if this was right but almost all of the instructions simply said to choose the compression or choose a lossless codec but not which one. I looked up each of the video codecs on my pc but all the information said they were all used years ago, or for different file types, etc. Anyway, even the most basic instructions I could find on the internet were still no help in this area.

I ran the first pass by clicking the Output Playback button because that was what was instruction in the link above. I noticed in this forum that someone said the first pass should be started by choosing File -> Run Video Analysis Pass. I don't know if this would cause the problem?

Anyway, I searched all different ways but could not find anyone with the same problems. I saw black border problems but no trouble with just audio, no video. Thanks for your help.

--------------------------------------

Additional Info: